PDA

View Full Version : Play chess against a chess engine online

kin
12-09-2008, 08:10 PM
Hello everybody.

I just wanted to share with you an address of a website where you can play chess against a chess engine, Queenside.net.

http://www.queenside.net/

I am a computer student and i created that webside to play chess at work.
You can play everywhere, you just need a web browser.

If you have any comment on that website, I'll glad to read it.

I hope you will like it. :)

Samson
13-09-2008, 11:49 AM
It's great... beats me easily!

Kevin Bonham
13-09-2008, 01:05 PM
A playback feature would be useful. It appears not to keep any record of the moves.

I'm 1900-ish at present and it's been beating me repeatedly in quick games (about nine in a row) though most of the games are close and I probably should have won a few of them.

It displays a fair variety of opening lines, but often seems to prefer offbeat or even outright rubbish lines to main lines. For instance after 1.e4 e6 2.d4 d5 3.Nd2 Nf6 4.e5 Nfd7 5.c3 c5 it has twice played 6.Nb1? against me. Also after 1.e4 e6 2.d4 d5 3.Nc3 Bb4 4.e5 c5 it seems unduly fond of the uncommon line 5.Nf3.

It's very dogged in declining exchanges that it doesn't want. One drawback of its playing style is that like many computers it will often shuffle pieces for a very long time in positions where not much is going on, although not to the point of allowing repetition.

I'd like to check how it goes on recognising draws but haven't yet played well enough to test this.

Samson
13-09-2008, 01:54 PM
It thinks for a while in critical positions. How did you get it to play such bad moves, Kevin Bonham? Plays good against me.

Kevin Bonham
13-09-2008, 06:44 PM
It thinks for a while in critical positions. How did you get it to play such bad moves, Kevin Bonham? Plays good against me.

Seems to be just an opening book issue. I haven't seen it play any obviously bad moves once out of book.

Kevin Bonham
13-09-2008, 08:25 PM