PDA

View Full Version : How can I improve at chess?

mayonnaise
12-01-2008, 03:42 PM
Hi

This is my first post here.

I'm relatively new at chess, although I've been playing for a while. I have not had any training, although I know the basics (develop my pieces, control the centre, etc).

For the time I've been playing, I have not improved my game a lot, because it feels like I'm doing the same thing, making the same mistakes. I can analyse my losses as far as what's the last mistake I made which lost me the game. In most positions, I struggle to find a plan. I can't evaluate the "best" move in a given position unless its bleedingly obvious and in front of my eyes (which never happens vs good players because they don't give me these opportunities - I have to play for them)

It seems as if endless games doesn't do anything. I will not pay for tuition. Also, nobody around me plays chess. So I'm limited to the resources on the net. Does anyone have any advice on how I can improve?

Kevin Bonham
12-01-2008, 04:23 PM
Hi mayonnaise, welcome to the forum.

Analysing your games to see where you made mistakes is a good start, but to benefit from it fully you need to try to work out what kinds of mistakes you are making a lot. That way you can keep those kinds of mistakes in mind and try to avoid them in future games. Also if you know you're making particular kinds of errors, it's much easier to recommend ways to get around them. Of course, also try to work out what things you are doing well in games. If you find that you play a certain kind of position well, then aim for that kind of position. eg some people like to exchange queens, some prefer to keep them on, some people like open positions, some people like closed ones (etc).