PDA

View Full Version : should creditation be required by all arbiters

CameronD
08-07-2007, 09:25 PM
Hi

I was national umpire for lawn bowls which required 30 hours of class teaching and a 90% pass mark on a 3 hour exam and practical. Lately they have been concerned about law suits against them for incorrect decisions - will this trend occur in chess as well.

My question is, considering all the arbiter errors reported on chesschat...

1) should Australia have an arbiter course which all arbiters must take and pass (correspondence or person with state association) to arbitate in prizemoney and/or rated games.

2) In regard to rule 10.2... should arbiters have a minumin rating to be able to do their job.

In lawn bowls, everything required accreditation (you cant evan play without a 6 week course (15 hours), I've been playing chess for 2 years and their seems to be no rules on any of these matters.

Igor_Goldenberg
09-07-2007, 10:31 AM
With any accreditation scheme there are many questions as:
1. Accreditation is done by human beings, whose imperfection has to be kept in mind
2. Does accreditation ensure some level of quality?
3. Does it stop people who qualified otherwise but for various reasons can not/do not want to have accreditation

IMHO, voluntary accreditation scheme is not a bad a thing, as long as it's up to organisers to choose whether they require an arbiter to have an accreditation.

eclectic
09-07-2007, 11:40 AM
I sometimes wonder whether all players should take a written test on the laws of chess before being permitted to participate.

If players were required to show they are conversant with such laws it might make the task of arbiters easier.

Just a thought ... :hmm:

Capablanca-Fan
09-07-2007, 11:45 AM
Surely our IAs could be paid to run a small class that would allow other arbiters to be acredited for rated events?

It would be good to have a minimum rating for arbiters when it comes to events that could be decided by 10.2.

Igor_Goldenberg