PDA

View Full Version : 'Blind' Chess

JGB
13-05-2004, 10:29 PM
I was wondering how many of the seeing chess folk have played chess 'blind'.

I am in the lucky position that at the company I work for here in Germany, we have a few chess players employed. I have taught about 6 to play from complete beginers to players who are now understanding openings and more complex middle game tactics. Its an enjoyment to watch, although its not exactly much fun to play against. Even with the clock at 2 minutes against 15 minutes I was still winning with about 1 in on the clock. Im not that good, but you pick up the patters and win quickly against new players. That was until I started playing blind. Now we are having good competitions where just in a short time im seeing the board so clearly 'blind'. I had always though it must be very difficult. Its amusing and can not be bad for the chess training. As long as your opponent clearly states the pieces and the correct square he is moving a piece to is a great chess excersise.

It has also helped when reading chess games, I dont need the board all the time, just for the more complex positions. For fun, training or in a tournament how many of you guys have tried it?

Alan Shore
14-05-2004, 12:12 AM
I tried it a couple of times, it was quite difficult. A friend of mine Kevin Sheldrick is quite good at blindfold, he's played it a lot on the internet, almost 1000 games. He even beat me when I wasn't blindfold..! After I beat him later at an OTB tournament I suggested maybe he should have played blindfold - he may have had a better chance at winning :D

Oepty
14-05-2004, 11:24 AM
Kevin is very very good at blindfold chess. I have played him a couple of times in blindfold games. I personally feel I don't play much weaker blindfold largely because it makes me think in a structured fashion. I tend to be metally lazy at the board, although I think I am becoming better at thinking things through.

JGB
14-05-2004, 03:38 PM