PDA

View Full Version : Poker Chessbase Equivalent

mechturk
22-11-2006, 03:17 PM
I started playing poker not so long ago, mainly online fixed limit hold 'em. I'm most of the way to memorizing a pre-flop system, but recently I've begun to discover how bad my post-flop play is. With the quick pace of play in online poker rooms, there isn't sufficient time to think about the correct play during, and even after the hand. This makes it hard to pick up on exactly where mistakes are happening.

The only solution I can think of is running through hand-histories with a fine tooth comb. I'm guessing that a poker database program would make this somewhat easier. I know that there are a few out there, but was just wondering if anyone knew of a good free one ALA Scid, or a defacto standard ALA Chessbase.

Cheers,

Dennis.

Gattaca
22-11-2006, 04:06 PM
Hi Dennis.

I'm not sure about databases for poker play, but I do have an alternative suggestion for gradually plugging any leaks in your play.

Play on any of the sites that let you download your hand history and then get one of the experts on the Two Plus Two forum to dissect your play.

http://www.twoplustwo.com/

I've seen many players submit their hand histories for discussion there and the dialogue can be very enlightening. You may have to put up with having some decisions exposed as very amateurish, but that's what you are trying to root out, presumably.

I'm also happy to swap poker books on loan with anyone in the Melbourne chess scene, to save us money on having to buy them all.

There is a small group of Melbourne chessplayers who have formed a 'crew' that analyse and play together. We have the occasional study session where one of us prepares a small lecture, quiz or lesson about some facet of the game. You're a pretty serious player and would be welcome.