PDA

View Full Version : Where to get fritz 8/9?

forcelima
01-03-2006, 04:23 PM
Hello, I'm pretty new to chess. Well not new but I only got interested not long ago. Does anyone know where I can get fritz 8/9 in Melbourne (preferably somewhere in the city, boxhill, doncaster, balwyn area)? When I looked at chessaustralia.com.au I saw Fritz 9 for 99.95 but wasn't sure if that's a complete version or something, because I saw the Deep Fritz 8 for 199.95 and I didn't see the Fritz 8 anywhere on the site. So should I get fritz 9?

Thanks

jase
01-03-2006, 05:10 PM
Get Fritz 9. Any shop selling it for $100 is giving you the RRP, or a better deal.
There's a few chess shops down your way, like Chess Ideas, though I don't have their contact details.

In Sydney, both Australian Chess Enterprises (www.chessaustralia.com.au) & Chess Discount Sales (www.chessdiscountsales.com) retail Fritz 9. They're both excellent suppliers and will post to you very promptly.

pax
02-03-2006, 03:13 PM
If you are only interested in the "chess computer" aspect, there are free options that are as strong or stronger than Fritz. Let me know if you want more info.

If you are interested in other stuff (playchess server, databases etc) then go ahead and get Fritz.

edit: by the way Deep Fritz is a multi processor version that you almost certainly don't need.

qpawn
02-03-2006, 05:46 PM