PDA

View Full Version : A link for fight lovers.

qpawn
26-02-2006, 05:14 PM
The rocky music plays...

Here is a link where I am arguing with some chess expert/coach from Romania about how an absolute beginner should be taught chess.

His view: a beginner should always be taught 1.e4 as a first opening.
My view: Both 1.d4 and 1.e4 are fine for tecahing a complete beginner all the basics of chess.

The fight so far: This Romanian dude thinks he is a bigshot because he teaches chess etc. He didn't think much of this rookie fighter called Qpawns [my handle on that site] who was swinging all thses ludicrous punches that he thought were rabbit punches. But then Qpawns came up with this awesome punch and knocked the Romanian down for the count!

Ding ding ding! Kicked his butt!

The link where he is Macaulin and I am qpawns:

http://www.chessarea.com/chess-forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=42&PN=1

Kevin Bonham
27-02-2006, 01:08 PM
Well, let's wait and see if he replies. :P

I find this a useful topic to debate because there are a range of opinions even among serious coaches. While there is the orthodox view that everyone should start with 1.e4 e5 for both sides, I see a lot of juniors playing mainly kingside fianchetto systems very effectively because those systems are safe and easier to understand thematically, and I know some very good coaches who recommend this approach to their charges. I think all beginning players should play open games regularly with one side or another for the tactical experience. Not necessarily both. No matter what you play you must be able to function on an open board if required.

A good point was made in a letter to the ACF Bulletin a few weeks ago. The author was an Australian chess parent who had taken his son to the USA and his comment was that in scholastic chess over there it is nearly all 1.e4 e5 but here you get a much wider range of openings in junior events.

qpawn
27-02-2006, 02:37 PM