PDA

View Full Version : Has a player ever left the game...

The_Wise_Man
05-02-2006, 09:24 PM
only to come back with a totally different style of play...

any examples or am I just going off on a tangent...

Wise

noswonky
05-02-2006, 10:25 PM
Bobby Fischer left the game for a long time.
When he came back he was setting up the pieces randomly.;)

PHAT
05-02-2006, 11:28 PM
Bobby Fischer left the game for a long time.
When he came back he was setting up the pieces randomly.;)

:clap:

Andrew Lloyd Webber gave Chess a miss and let Tim Rice compose independant lines.

Alan Shore
05-02-2006, 11:31 PM
Hmm..

I took a break of almost a year.. I found I started playing more positional chess... but probably because my tactics were so rusty.

WhiteElephant
06-02-2006, 07:43 AM
Hmm..

I took a break of almost a year.. I found I started playing more positional chess... but probably because my tactics were so rusty.

Heh for me it's the opposite. I had a break of about 10 years from chess. I used to try to block up positions - stonewall/ maroczy bind type positions and then try to grind out a slow win. Nowadays I'm finding I get bored quickly by that and try to open up positions and look for devastating tactics. I think it has a correlation to the way I have changed as a person - now I have more confidence and am prepared to take more risks than I used to.

Denis_Jessop
06-02-2006, 09:10 PM
Heh for me it's the opposite. I had a break of about 10 years from chess. I used to try to block up positions - stonewall/ maroczy bind type positions and then try to grind out a slow win. Nowadays I'm finding I get bored quickly by that and try to open up positions and look for devastating tactics. I think it has a correlation to the way I have changed as a person - now I have more confidence and am prepared to take more risks than I used to.