PDA

View Full Version : why I dislike bridge

qpawn
29-01-2006, 07:56 AM
About two years ago I tried bridge. I had never seen a deck of cards before. I downloaded a free bridge program on the set and played around with it. Then I went to a few bridge clubs and tried to learn stuff.

I did not enjoy bridge at all and gave up after a few weeks. Why? ...

[1] The dummy drove me crazy. I can not do anything once every 4 goes?

[2] I felt that I was a nuisance becuase I was holding up play when the tables had to end.

[3] While I did get recognition that I was a beginner and was put in a group with a few other starters, and got help from an experienced player, I felt lost in all the possibilities. I find the spades and clubs hard to tell apart.

In short, I found the learning curve so steep that I walked away.

It is interesting that a few weeks ago I tried poker at the mindsports festival. I found poker much easier to learn and understand! You just use the hierarchy of flushes, straights etc to form the best hand with any 5 card combination of your 2 cards and/or 3 of the other 5 cards that appear. [That's simplistic but anyway].

Rincewind
29-01-2006, 08:44 AM
Funnily enough I quite like Bridge. Although I have never bothered to play at a club, I went through a stage when I was travelling quite a distance to work and played Rubber Bridge too and from work and at lunch time. So I played something like 4 hours of Bridge 5 days a week for several years.

[1] It's a good opportunity to get a drink, go to the toilet, have a rest, check the score, catch 40 winks, go to the bar, etc.