PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding study methods

trav
27-10-2005, 06:55 PM
Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to the game and have read that studying the games of the masters is possibly one of the best ways to improve.

My question is this, what is the best way to study these games?

Is it best to pick a side, so to speak, and then attempt to anticipate what move would be made next after conducting your own analysis of the position?

I realise there are many different ways to improve at chess, including solving tactical puzzles etc. I have made a habbit of attempting to solve a few puzzles each night but unfortunately im right in the middle of uni exams. :wall:

I am interested to hear if many people on the board have improved their games by studying masters, and how they go about studying the games.

Thanks in advance,

Trav.

Frank Walker
27-10-2005, 09:21 PM
With that attitude you will become a great player in no time! :)

Carl Gorka
27-10-2005, 10:15 PM
Studying annotated master games is a good way to learn from the insights of the very best players. I went through tournament books and games collections and improved my knowledge of the game dramatically. I just absorbed the ideas, rather than trying to second guess the masters themselves. A good exercise is to get a book of games (tournament or player) and then download the blank scores of the games from the internet. Then try to analyse the games yourself to some extent and compare your ideas with those of the master. It is hard work but very profitable. And you may even find something that the master didn't find ;)

trav
29-10-2005, 12:59 PM
Thanks for the replies guys.

I've managed to get a copy of Alekhine's games, and although i think they will mostly go over my head, ill try the method you suggested fireeater.

I just had one other question too.

When playing through games, approximately how many moves into the game should you play before you start to calculate your own variations?