PDA

View Full Version : Microsoft Word 2002



Garvinator
17-09-2005, 05:34 PM
I have just changed computers, but as soon as I tried to install microsoft works suite 2005 onto the new hard drive and put in the previous product key, it wont accept it on the new computer.

Does anyone have a way around this?

Bill Gletsos
17-09-2005, 05:38 PM
I have just changed computers, but as soon as I tried to install microsoft works suite 2005 onto the new hard drive and put in the previous product key, it wont accept it on the new computer.

Does anyone have a way around this?I can see now reason why it should reject it when you are just entering the product key.
Are you sure you got the key correct including zeros and o's and ones and i's.

I could of course imagine it having a problem if you need to activate works like you do with office.

Garvinator
17-09-2005, 05:44 PM
I can see now reason why it should reject it when you are just entering the product key.
Are you sure you got the key correct including zeros and o's and ones and i's.

I could of course imagine it having a problem if you need to activate works like you do with office.
I am sure i have the product key correct as I am copying it straight from the case it came in and the product key sticker is still on that. Capitals and everything are ok too.

I might not be putting in the other information correctly, like I did the first time, ie Name, organisation etc.

Bill Gletsos
17-09-2005, 05:46 PM
I am sure i have the product key correct as I am copying it straight from the packet it came in and the product key sticker is still on that.

I might not be putting in the other information correctly, like I did the first time, ie Name, organisation etc.That shouldnt matter at the time of installation.

It is only when you come to activate the product if necessary that keys and machine information is important.

Spiny Norman
18-09-2005, 08:23 AM
If you're trying to install Works 2005 and using a product key from Word 2002 I see no reason why you would expect it to work ... you'll need a key for the current product.

Or was your initial post a typo? (the thread references Word 2002)

Garvinator
18-09-2005, 01:43 PM
If you're trying to install Works 2005 and using a product key from Word 2002 I see no reason why you would expect it to work ... you'll need a key for the current product.

Or was your initial post a typo? (the thread references Word 2002)
Microsoft Word 2002 came in a package of 5 in works suite 2005. So no typo. I have heard that the product key is unique, therefore you cant have the same product key on two different computers, meaning that I will have to uninstall word 2002 from my laptop to use it on the new computer.

skip to my lou
18-09-2005, 03:40 PM
I have heard that the product key is unique, therefore you cant have the same product key on two different computers, meaning that I will have to uninstall word 2002 from my laptop to use it on the new computer.

:D :D :D

Bill Gletsos
18-09-2005, 04:32 PM
Microsoft Word 2002 came in a package of 5 in works suite 2005. So no typo. I have heard that the product key is unique, therefore you cant have the same product key on two different computers, meaning that I will have to uninstall word 2002 from my laptop to use it on the new computer.Unless they are corporate product keys, all microsoft product keys are unique.
The question is how does the desktop know that Word is currently installed on the laptop.
The answer is it doesnt until Word is attempted to be activated on the Desktop, not just simply installed.
Therefore installation on desktop should work, activation should fail.

Installation normally goes as follows:
1) Install Word on machine A using product Key X
2) Activate Word on machine A

3) windows dies :lol:
4) Fresh install windows on machine A's hard disk
5) Install Word on machine A using product Key X
6) Activate word on machine A. this activation works because it is the same machine

7) De-install Word on Machine A
8) Install Word on machine B
9) Activate Word on machine B using product Key X. Activation fails as the machine registration information does not match that recorded on the Microsoft servers. :wall:
10) Ring microsoft and convince them you are not pirating the software and get them to permit it to be activated. :doh: :whistle:

Garvinator
18-09-2005, 05:23 PM
Unless they are corporate product keys, all microsoft product keys are unique.
The question is how does the desktop know that Word is currently installed on the laptop.
The answer is it doesnt until Word is attempted to be activated on the Desktop, not just simply installed.
Therefore installation on desktop should work, activation should fail. You are correct, i was able to install correctly, but when attempting to put in the product key, it failed. That would be the activation you are talking about.


Installation normally goes as follows:
1) Install Word on machine A using product Key X
2) Activate Word on machine A

3) windows dies :lol: that didnt happen, so far ;)


4) Fresh install windows on machine A's hard disk
5) Install Word on machine A using product Key X
6) Activate word on machine A. this activation works because it is the same machine

7) De-install Word on Machine A
8) Install Word on machine B
9) Activate Word on machine B using product Key X. Activation fails as the machine registration information does not match that recorded on the Microsoft servers. :wall:
10) Ring microsoft and convince them you are not pirating the software and get them to permit it to be activated. :doh: :whistle:

sounds like i should just ring microsoft instead of doing all that :P

Davidflude
18-09-2005, 10:27 PM
I got so ***** by Microsoft that I have installed the legal free program freeoffice instead. Once you get used to it you have all the features of Word and Excell.

Garvinator
18-09-2005, 10:34 PM
I got so ***** by Microsoft that I have installed the legal free program freeoffice instead. Once you get used to it you have all the features of Word and Excell.
i used to use open office, but found problems sending files to ppl who had only word. Dont know really what was going on, but just found it was easier to use word and then send via doc format.

Can you give me more details about freeoffice and can files send from freeoffice by opened easily by those who use word?

Davidflude
19-09-2005, 11:45 AM
I just save the files in Microsoft Word format and they can read them.

Trent Parker
26-02-2008, 11:11 AM
I'm downloading Open office now. apparently you can save to Microsoft Word format now.......

Its telling me that it will download in 9hrs though......FMD!

pax
26-02-2008, 11:59 AM
Abiword (http://www.abisource.com/)is also compatible with MS word, and is considerably lighter weight than OO.

Capablanca-Fan
26-02-2008, 12:18 PM
I just save the files in Microsoft Word format and they can read them.
Or use save in RTF so just about any program can read them, and they don't contain macro viruses.

Denis_Jessop
26-02-2008, 03:26 PM
Abiword (http://www.abisource.com/)is also compatible with MS word, and is considerably lighter weight than OO.

The "beauty" of Open Office is that you can save a document in any one of numerous WP programs including several versions of MS Word and you can also save docs as PDFs.

Despite all that I have bought MS Office for the Mac 2008 though I'm not sure if it was economically justified.

I found Abiword's Mac version to be defective in that it had virtually unreadable toolbars.

DJ

Trent Parker
27-02-2008, 11:31 PM
well I didnt end up downloading open office. My ISP disconnects my dialup after five hours. Does anyone know a way around this?

Adamski
27-02-2008, 11:40 PM
TCN, it sounds like its time for Broadband!

Basil
28-02-2008, 09:06 AM
well I didnt end up downloading open office. My ISP disconnects my dialup after five hours. Does anyone know a way around this?
What Jono2 said.
A friend could download and save to cd. The friend would require a p *cough* c

ElevatorEscapee
01-03-2008, 10:49 PM
Either go Broadband, or use a Download Manager that can resume a partial download after a disconnect.

I personally use the free "Fresh Download" by "Fresh Devices" and it seems to work ok. Just type "Fresh Download" in Google and it will give you a link. :)

Davidflude
11-03-2008, 04:51 PM
What Jono2 said.
A friend could download and save to cd. The friend would require a p *cough* c

go to a newsagent. they usually have computer magazines that are not very good but have DVD's attached with lashings of free software. check that the magazine has free office on it. you may also find other interesting software and free games.

One magazine to check has a title

"Australian PC User"

Aaron Guthrie
11-03-2008, 04:55 PM
A friend could download and save to cd. The friend would require a p *cough* cMacs cannot burn cds?

Basil
11-03-2008, 05:51 PM
Macs cannot burn cds?
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y105/scene66/smilies/pmsl.gif http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y105/scene66/smilies/pmsl.gif http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y105/scene66/smilies/pmsl.gif http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y105/scene66/smilies/pmsl.gif http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y105/scene66/smilies/pmsl.gif

Hang on a sec ...

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y105/scene66/smilies/pmsl.gif http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y105/scene66/smilies/pmsl.gif http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y105/scene66/smilies/pmsl.gif http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y105/scene66/smilies/pmsl.gif http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y105/scene66/smilies/pmsl.gif

I remember when the first iMac came out and the PC heads wanted to know why there was no floppy drive. Macs were burning cds before PCs lost their green and orange monitors.

Basil
11-03-2008, 05:52 PM
Macs cannot burn cds?
OK. Got my composure back. I was referring to the need for compatible software (some older PCs cannot read mac disks).

Aaron Guthrie
11-03-2008, 05:53 PM
I remember when the first iMac came out and the PC heads wanted to know why there was no floppy drive. Macs were burning cds before PCs lost their green and orange monitors.So I take it they can't burn cds anymore, but can burn blu rays?

Aaron Guthrie
11-03-2008, 05:55 PM
OK. Got my composure back. I was referring to the need for compatible software (some older PCs cannot read mac disks).OK, I assumed that the file system shouldn't be an issue (since both mac and non-mac should have dealt with that a long time ago).