PDA

View Full Version : 2005 NSW State Ch. Reserves and U1600



arosar
04-09-2005, 07:36 PM
[Event "2005 NSW Ch"]
[Site "?"]
[Date "2005.09.04"]
[Round "3"]
[White "Navarro, Sim"]
[Black "Xu, William"]
[Result "1-0"]
[ECO "D02"]
[PlyCount "103"]
[EventDate "2005.08.28"]
[SourceDate "2005.09.04"]

1. d4 Nc6 2. Nf3 d5 3. g3 Bg4 4. Bg2 e6 5. Nbd2 Nf6 6. c3 Be7 7. Qb3 Rb8 8. O-O O-O 9. Re1 Re8 10. e4 Bxf3 11. Bxf3 Na5 12. Qa4 dxe4 13. Nxe4 Nxe4 14. Bxe4 c5 15. dxc5 b5 16. cxb6 Qxb6 17. Be3 Qc7 18. Bf4 Qb6 19. Bxb8 Rxb8 20. b4 Nc4 21. Qc6 Qxc6 22. Bxc6 Rc8 23. b5 Na5 24. Bd7 Rxc3 25. Rac1 Rd3 26. Red1 Rxd1+ 27. Rxd1 Bc5 28. Rc1 Bd6 29. Rc8+ Bf8 30. Rc7 h6 31. Rxa7 Nc4 32. Be8 f6 33. Bf7+ Kh7 34. Bxe6 Nb6 35. Rb7 Bc5 36. Bf5+ Kg8 37. Bg6 Kf8 38. Rf7+ Kg8 39. Rc7 Bb4 40. Rb7 Na4 41. Rb8+ Bf8 42. b6 Nc5 43. b7 Nxb7 44. Rxb7 Ba3 45. Rb8+ Bf8 46. a4 f5 47. a5 f4 48. a6 fxg3 49. a7 gxf2+ 50. Kxf2 h5 51. a8=Q h4 52. Rxf8# 1-0

arosar
04-09-2005, 07:44 PM
[Event "2005 NSW Ch"]
[Site "?"]
[Date "2005.09.04"]
[Round "3"]
[White "Hoving, E."]
[Black "Miranda, A."]
[Result "1/2-1/2"]
[ECO "C15"]
[PlyCount "43"]
[EventDate "2005.08.28"]
[SourceDate "2005.09.04"]

1. e4 e6 2. d4 d5 3. Nc3 Bb4 4. a3 Bxc3+ 5. bxc3 dxe4 6. f3 exf3 7. Nxf3 Nf6 8. Bd3 b6 9. O-O Bb7 10. Bg5 Nbd7 11. Qe2 h6 12. Bh4 g5 13. Be1 Nd5 14. Bd2 Qe7 15. Ba6 Bxa6 16. Qxa6 Qd6 17. Rae1 f6 18. Qe2 e5 19. dxe5 fxe5 20. Nxe5 Nxe5 21. Rf5 O-O-O 22. Qa6+ 1/2-1/2

sonyrobocup
04-09-2005, 09:16 PM
Adrian should not accepted the draw. He was winning in the final position.

Trent Parker
05-09-2005, 01:09 PM
Hmm so Eliot Hoving plays the wrinklemann - Riemer Gambit :hmm: (its called something like that....)

sonyrobocup
17-09-2005, 09:59 AM
Just look at the new pairings for U1600. Why the top seed, Adrian Miranda is playing the same opponent - Ted Wong again?

Lucena
17-09-2005, 11:00 AM
Under the rules Wong and Miranda can be paired to play each other even though they were paired against each other previously. This is because their 2nd round game was not actually played as Wong lost on forfeit. This is an easy detail to miss, but you can tell it was a forfeit because of the "+" sign for Miranda and the "-" sign for Wong in the crosstable.

four four two
17-09-2005, 01:36 PM
That sounds like a crazy rule,Imean cant he forfeit again and give Miranda a decisive advantage? :hmm:

Bill Gletsos
17-09-2005, 01:50 PM
That sounds like a crazy rule,Imean cant he forfeit again and give Miranda a decisive advantage? :hmm:It is as per FIDE Swiss rule F.2 which states: Byes, and pairing not actually played, or lost by one of the players due to arriving late or not at all, will not be taken into account with respect to colour, Such a pairing is not considered to be illegal in future rounds.

four four two
17-09-2005, 02:29 PM
So is it potentially possible for someone to purposely forfeit games knowing full well they are likely to be paired again? :hmm: Cant people rig results this way? :hmm:

Bill Gletsos
17-09-2005, 02:34 PM
So is it potentially possible for someone to purposely forfeit games knowing full well they are likely to be paired again? :hmm: Cant people rig results this way? :hmm:Possibly, however if a player forfeited twice to the same opponent then no doubt the Arbiter would report him to their State Association for disciplinary action.

four four two
17-09-2005, 02:39 PM
But would the result still stand in regards to the tournament? :hmm:

Bill Gletsos
17-09-2005, 03:26 PM
But would the result still stand in regards to the tournament? :hmm:Their opponent has done nothing wrong. As such I dont see how the arbiter could overturn it.

four four two
17-09-2005, 03:45 PM
Wait a sec,are you saying if someone purposely throws games by forfeiting that there isnt something wrong going on? :hmm:

Garvinator
17-09-2005, 03:48 PM
While still following the rules closely, i think most arbiters would avoid pairing players together when one of them has forfeited to the other earlier in the tournament. Of course sometimes, repairing the players is the only legal pairing.

I remember Geurt referring to a situation like this recently on www.chesscafe.com

Bill Gletsos
17-09-2005, 04:03 PM
Wait a sec,are you saying if someone purposely throws games by forfeiting that there isnt something wrong going on? :hmm:Certainly with regards the person who has forfeited there is and it is unacceptable. However you might be hard pressed to prove that their opponent who has turned up to play is part of it.

Bill Gletsos
17-09-2005, 04:06 PM
While still following the rules closely, i think most arbiters would avoid pairing players together when one of them has forfeited to the other earlier in the tournament.I dont think so and I dont believe Geurt does either.

I remember Geurt referring to a situation like this recently on www.chesscafe.comYes, he did. He stated that the two pleyers who were paired in an earlier round and did not play should have been paired again in the latter round.
BTW that is an absolutely useless link. You should point to his actual column or cite which one rather than expect someone to trawl through all of Geurt's previous columns to find it.
You would have been better to have pointed to May 2005 (http://www.chesscafe.com/text/geurt86.pdf) and referred to the question from Remco Gerlich from the Netherlands

Garvinator
17-09-2005, 04:25 PM
I dont think so and I dont believe Geurt does either.
Yes, he did. He stated that the two pleyers who were paired in an earlier round and did not play should have been paired again in the latter round.
BTW that is an absolutely useless link. You should point to his actual column or cite which one rather than expect someone to trawl through all of Geurt's previous columns to find it.
You would have been better to have pointed to May 2005 (http://www.chesscafe.com/text/geurt86.pdf) and referred to the question from Remco Gerlich from the Netherlands
sorry it wasnt meant to be a link. I just put in the address. You have found the article that i was about to refer to and put up.

Bill Gletsos
24-10-2005, 01:14 PM
Three time NSW Champion (65, 86, 88) FM Max Fuller has hit the lead of the NSW Championship with one round to go.

Max beat FM Greg Canfell in round 8 whilst the leader Andrew Bird lost to Barak Atzmon-Simon.

auriga
24-10-2005, 01:37 PM
wow. this makes it an exciting finish.

Watto
24-10-2005, 01:58 PM
That sounds like a crazy rule,Imean cant he forfeit again and give Miranda a decisive advantage? :hmm:

We’ve just had this situation in the MCC Open- a player forfeiting twice to the same player. It’s had no decisive impact on results and definitely wasn’t a deliberate ploy on the part of either player. The person who was supposedly advanted by the forfeits probably found them more disappointing than anything.

It’s apparently well within the rules but it still seems a little nutty to me. And I can't really believe it would occur at the top end of a tournament so can't be a generally applied rule.

Should add... in fairness to the organisers of the MCC Open- who do a great job- :) there have been quite a few forfeits and withdrawals at the bottom end which must have caused them some difficulty in relation to pairings.

Watto
24-10-2005, 02:35 PM
p.s. back to the rather more important point of this thread… Go Max! :)