PDA

View Full Version : Primary School And High School Chess

Frank Walker
28-08-2005, 02:18 PM
Being a member of the Victorian Teacher Association, I have decided to write this for the interest of the public.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Primary Schools
Chess in primary schools has been very successfull recently. Alot of the primary schools in which I have been a substitute teacher in, have an enthusiastic chess club. Take Essex Heights for example: Many of kids there had no interest in chess before the chess club.
The following may possiblt be false because I do not know whether the children had previous experience in chess:
Essex heights has produce many good chess players such who are now competing at National level whether it be in the Australian Junior or the Interchool finals.

Primary School chess has been brilliant in the past few years.

Secondary Schools
Many schools actually have very good chess players but no chess clubs. In 2001 Glen Waverley Secondary College had a chess club which is now extinct because the only teacher who supperted it has left. In 2002 it was run for a small amount of time by students. The club was oftenly flooded by bullies who came in and called everyone nerds, many of the children had thier reputation on stake so they left.

Due to this, schools are now not able to show what they can do at the interschool tournaments etc.
These bullies are somewhat an unstoppable force who may be able to destroy the new generation of chess.

Please feel free to express your opinion about this report and if it has a good argument I will try to get it published in the local newspapers.

jenni
28-08-2005, 04:33 PM
Its a pretty fair comment. Chess seems to be thriving at the primary school level and struggling at High School.

Essex Heights incidentally has been good at chess and producing international and national level players since 1998.