PDA

View Full Version : new fish

jumb135
04-08-2005, 08:33 PM
Howdy, i am by no means a chess expert but do i enjoy playing chess alot. I have been playing chess at a casual recreation since i was 6 ( i am 17 now)but i havnt taken it seriously. During the past year i have increasingly become interested in chess and want to make it more than just a casual recreation, which leads me here with some questions.

1. Is it possible to start studying chess seriously at the age of 18 and still reach a high rating (expert).

2. Are there any good chess clubs in the St.George region of Sydney. I live in Hurstville.

3. On a limited budget what would be a good method to improve my chess.

antichrist
04-08-2005, 08:39 PM
Howdy, i am by no means a chess expert but do i enjoy playing chess alot. I have been playing chess at a casual recreation since i was 6 ( i am 17 now)but i havnt taken it seriously. During the past year i have increasingly become interested in chess and want to make it more than just a casual recreation, which leads me here with some questions.

1. Is it possible to start studying chess seriously at the age of 18 and still reach a high rating (expert).

2. Are there any good chess clubs in the St.George region of Sydney. I live in Hurstville.

3. On a limited budget what would be a good method to improve my chess.

Now listen jumb, the world is at your feet. Just go along to your local St George Leagues Club chess club. There you can become an international master in the shortest time possible without ever having lifted a piece in anger. And without even writing down a move. Itn't that cool.

The_Wise_Man
04-08-2005, 09:26 PM
Hello Jumb135

I am the President of the St George Leagues Club Chess Club on the Princess Highway at Kogarah. We are starting a Allegro tournament (15 minutes each) on Tuesday Night at 7.30pm...