PDA

View Full Version : New test board

paulb
05-01-2004, 03:13 PM
I have set up a new bulletin board at http://www.chessnetwork.com/forum

It is similar to this one (ie a phpBB) but lacks Jeo's special features such as game and position display. It is also not as fast.

The new board is a test board: please go and check it out and make any comments you'd like about performance etc. There may be some glitches because I'm no expert at this. Please let me know.

Why yet another board? My reasoning is as follows:

1. It is undesirable to have the ACF board hosted by the ACF, since inevitably posts raise the prospect of legal problems or are simply embarrassing to the ACF. It is well to shield the ACF from legal liability and embarrassment.

2. For similar reasons, there is no need to have an "ACF" Bulletin Board at all. Rather, what is needed is a BB for Australian chess.

3. I had hoped that ChessKit would provide such a forum, however there are various issues to be resolved here.

4. The major difficulty is that ChessKit is a "nice" board with well-monitored pposts and nothing nasty. I agree that there are difficulties combining this with the "free-for-all" culture of the old BB.

5. However, ChessKit has many excellent features.

6. So my proposal is to:
a) eliminate the old ACF board, thereby eliminating legal risk and embarrassment for the ACF
b) use the new bb at http://www.chessnetwork.com/forum for the typical rough-and-tumble aussie chess debates
c) provide easy cross-links to the ChessKit site for those who want to discuss games, theory, chess software etc. These are topics which (i) formed a relatively minor part of the old ACF board; (ii) are ideally suited to the culture, history and the technical capacities of the ChessKit site.

This way the ACF is saved from embarrassment; aussie players have an opportunity for robust debate; and aussie players get to enjoy the excelllent technical capacities of the ChessKit site.