PDA

View Full Version : 8/1 Adsl



skip to my lou
06-02-2005, 12:57 PM
http://www.iinet.net.au/broadband/

Wow o_O XinCom + iiNet ADSL + Telstra Cable = 18 Mbit down.

Alan Shore
06-02-2005, 03:04 PM
http://www.iinet.net.au/broadband/

Wow o_O XinCom + iiNet ADSL + Telstra Cable = 18 Mbit down.

I've been with iinet for a couple of years (DSL), pretty good (except for that 2 week period where it was screwed).

skip to my lou
06-02-2005, 03:17 PM
I think everyone got screwed when there were storms.

Rincewind
06-02-2005, 04:59 PM
I think everyone got screwed when there were storms.

I lost power for 90 minutes. Which would have had me stuffed (desktop-wise) regardless of the type of connection. Apart from that very few dramas in the last 2 years. Connection running 24x7.

skip to my lou
14-02-2005, 01:50 PM
Signed up for iiNet today, still looking for a decent router.

arosar
14-02-2005, 02:00 PM
Youse blokes won't believe this, but I finally got me a net connection from home. Bigpond 1.5Gb unlimited. So fast! I even managed to get me rating on chess21 right up to 2400. Now me next aim is ICC and playchess. Look out!

AR

skip to my lou
14-02-2005, 02:12 PM
Bigpond sucks.

skip to my lou
17-02-2005, 03:39 PM
How does the system know where the PPPoE device is? Does it default to 192.168.0.1 or does it search for a valid bridge till it finds one?

arosar
17-02-2005, 04:19 PM
The what device? Who you talking to?

AR

skip to my lou
17-02-2005, 04:49 PM
ok heres what I did...

Motorola Surfboard - 192.168.100.1 - Modem Only - Disable DHCP
D-Link 704P Heartbeat enabled - 192.168.0.1 - DHCP Server - Cable
D-Link 500 Gen II - 192.168.0.2 - ADSL - AU_Bridged

Computer:

1 PPPoE -> ADSL
1 Direct Internet Connection

Now it uses ADSL whenever it is connected (on the computer) otherwise it uses the direct internet connection, which is bigpond cable through the 704P.

skip to my lou
17-02-2005, 04:57 PM
It can work either way really, since you can use BPA Login for cable and direction connection for ADSL, but the problem is my netgear switch doesn't have heartbeat, so that's not an option unless I connect directly to the 704P.

edit: this is posted via bigpond cable

Spiny Norman
28-02-2005, 08:56 PM
I've got my broadband connection back at last. 1500/256 ADSL VLAN into my work, then 4Mbit fibre to the 'Net. The last month (on dialup) has been killing me!

skip to my lou
01-03-2005, 11:28 PM
Internode out with ADSL2, 12/1. They have 8/1 available for ADSL1 aswell.

Rincewind
01-03-2005, 11:41 PM
Internode out with ADSL2, 12/1. They have 8/1 available for ADSL1 aswell.

I got 512/128 ADSL from Internode for around 12 months. In my experience was they are a well run professional company.

skip to my lou
01-03-2005, 11:48 PM
Agile network is not so good in my experience.

skip to my lou
04-03-2005, 01:44 PM
iiNet to install many DSLAMs in NSW in 2005 (INCLUDING MY EXCHANGE! YAY!). Certainly putting pressure on Telstra. Telstra has promised to make all their DSLAMs ADSL2 compatible and increase speeds in mid 06.

pax
03-06-2005, 02:04 PM
Months late reply but anyway.. I just signed up for Ozemail BB2 (iinet). My exchange is enabled, so that's 8M/1M. Not bad for a $30 plan...

If your exchange is enabled (quite a lot are now) iinet plans are kicking the arse of anything out there except for a few exchanges which have ADSL2 (24M down) from small providers.

skip to my lou
09-06-2005, 08:21 PM
iiNet upgrades all ADSL to 12 Mbit....

pax
29-06-2005, 10:14 PM
Finally got my BB2 working after a month playing call centre ping pong.

Quite nice - now have 6Mb down and nearly 1Mb up. I don't know whether my modem handles ADSL2, so I could probably get faster with a better modem, but it'll do for now...

skip to my lou
29-08-2005, 10:34 PM
iiNet now offering free second phone (VoIP) line with iibroadband2 and iiphone bundles.