PDA

View Full Version : 2000 court case redux (sf 2016 Baku NZ teams)

ER
15-12-2015, 09:26 PM
Perhaps Elliott was making the point that unlike the Australian chess context lawsuits involving chess personalities are virtually unheard of in NZ Over the last 30 or so years I can only think of one incident vaguely approaching a lawsuit in NZ chess - and even then I'm not sure if lawyers have any involvement beyond giving advice to one or two parties.

Although I was only joking in my previous, I have some knowledge of the case.
What really impressed me was the very intelligent move by the judge to seek expert opinion outside of court.
Two eminent chess personalities (both Victorian) were approached to give their opinion on the matter!
I have no knowledge of the effect of their opinion on the final outcome of the case.
I understand, however, that they presented an objective, unbiased and thorough perspective of the situation!

Kevin Bonham
15-12-2015, 10:26 PM
What really impressed me was the very intelligent move by the judge to seek expert opinion outside of court.
Two eminent chess personalities (both Victorian) were approached to give their opinion on the matter!

This is drifting off-topic here but actually they were Robert Jamieson (Vic) and the late Peter Parr (NSW) and they were called as defence witnesses, ie by the ACF. Both indeed did an excellent job. I am trying to find the judgement again since the original link is now down.

ER
15-12-2015, 11:24 PM
This is drifting off-topic here but actually they were Robert Jamieson (Vic) and the late Peter Parr (NSW) and they were called as defence witnesses, ie by the ACF. Both indeed did an excellent job. I am trying to find the judgement again since the original link is now down.

Indeed it's drifting off topic. However and since you are about to provide some additional information, I think it's only fair to start a new thread regarding the court case.