PDA

View Full Version : Chesschat slow or just me?



slyall
06-04-2015, 03:23 PM
Just wondering if other find the site really slow at times. My problem is that pages take a minute or two to load or don't load at all (tcp timeout error, and take 2-3 retries to work). This seems to happen quite often here but not on other sites.

On the other hand when I do test from places like webpagetest.org everything looks good and the pages load in a couple of seconds (even from the New Zealand site). Tests from command line and other browsers on my PC seem to vary, sometimes fast but they too timeout every now and then.

Just me? Just my provider (Spark ADSL, Auckland, New Zealand) ? or others as well?

This has been happening since forever (months at least).

Garrett
06-04-2015, 04:00 PM
First step would be to try a different browser, or clear browser cache.

Good luck !

ER
06-04-2015, 07:09 PM
Very fast Chesschat loading in Canberra!

as Garrett says ...



First step would be to try a different browser, or clear browser cache.

Good luck !

slyall
06-04-2015, 08:44 PM
Like I said already tried another browser. Cleared cache anyway and tried on another PC (also at home) with the same result.

Anyway I was debugging a bit if any of this helps:

1. At home approx 10% of requests (for the same .js element) fail. What seems to happen is the tcp connect just hangs for between 5 seconds and till whatever the timeout is. This happens even with static elements.

2. From my US machine I didn't see any failures. But I don't ever seem to hit the machine(s) with Frontpage extensions installed.

3. I notice that the requests served by the server(s) with Frontpage install have http keepalives while those from the other server(s) don't. Not sure if this means much since I don't know the setup at the other end.

4. I notice that firefox is aggressively re-fetching even the static elements. It will cache them for a minute of so but still requests them. There isn't any explicit logic set with expire headers so I'm not exactly sure where this is coming from. Perhaps setting more explicit expire tags for some objects will help. Browser expire logic is always a little weird.

5. However a good thing is that fetching with "If-None-Match" on the etag seems to work so not problem there.

Here are a couple of requests, if they are useful. Note the first one hits the "frontpage" machine and gets Keepalive and Age headers while the other doesn't (even though it is reusing the same keepalive connection I think).

> GET /clientscript/vbulletin-core.js?v=421 HTTP/1.1
> User-Agent: curl/7.37.1
> Host: www.chesschat.org
> Accept: */*
> If-None-Match: "1201cb-cadc-4e5b1af02a1c0"
>
< HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified
< Date: Mon, 06 Apr 2015 10:41:28 GMT
* Server Apache/2.2.24 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.24 OpenSSL/1.0.0-fips mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 PHP/4.4.9 is not blacklisted
< Server: Apache/2.2.24 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.24 OpenSSL/1.0.0-fips mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 PHP/4.4.9
< Last-Modified: Fri, 06 Sep 2013 07:06:55 GMT
< ETag: "1201cb-cadc-4e5b1af02a1c0"
< Accept-Ranges: bytes
< Content-Type: application/javascript
< Connection: Keep-Alive
< Age: 0
* Connection #0 to host www.chesschat.org left intact


* Connected to www.chesschat.org (122.201.118.118) port 80 (#0)
> GET /clientscript/vbulletin-core.js?v=421 HTTP/1.1
> User-Agent: curl/7.37.1
> Host: www.chesschat.org
> Accept: */*
> If-None-Match: "1201cb-cadc-4e5b1af02a1c0"
>
< HTTP/1.1 304 Not Modified
< Date: Mon, 06 Apr 2015 10:41:32 GMT
* Server Apache/2.2.24 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.24 OpenSSL/1.0.0-fips mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.4 PHP/4.4.9 is not blacklisted
< Server: Apache/2.2.24 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.24 OpenSSL/1.0.0-fips mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.4 PHP/4.4.9
< ETag: "1201cb-cadc-4e5b1af02a1c0"