PDA

View Full Version : Macs



Gandalf
23-10-2003, 09:39 AM
I may be getting a brand new Powerbook G4 in February from my mother if I do well enough in the HSC. I'm wondering if there is anything I should no before making the jump from PC to Mac. And can I use any chess programs on it? I've gone too long without a computer based match.

skip to my lou
23-10-2003, 09:45 AM
Unfortunately, ChessBase, ChessMaster and most chess programs are not compatible with Mac.

Gandalf
23-10-2003, 09:50 AM
Don't Macs have a program which simulates PC processes though? Like the command prompt on PCs for DOS based programs, only instead it's a WinSim?

skip to my lou
23-10-2003, 10:03 AM
Possibly, but the Chess programs are written originally for windows. So even if there is a program like that, there is probably loss in performance.

Byrone
05-11-2003, 12:41 AM
LOL... Jeo, dont say things like that!!

Unfortunately, ChessBase, ChessMaster and most chess programs are not compatible with Mac
It should be FORTUNATELY...

because in my opinion.. macs are very low and pathetic.
Amen

skip to my lou
05-11-2003, 12:46 AM
lol, you should check out the specs for a dual G5 :P

Byrone
05-11-2003, 12:54 AM
yeh... i can imagine. Something looking very fancy.
One problem... they cost a lil too much for my liking.

Gandalf
08-11-2003, 11:11 PM
The cost is not always a problem. ;) For me (and most others) I am quite willing to pay these extortion-rates because of the quality and style I will receive in return. It's worth the money.

Byrone
09-11-2003, 10:08 PM
wot the hell??

give me some money then.
lol...

Gandalf
12-11-2003, 11:56 AM
Save it up for yourself! :p