PDA

View Full Version : Informal Survey: Playing at tournaments

LNah
26-07-2014, 06:56 PM
This is an informal survey. Perhaps it'll all come to nothing but I hope some of it may give us some insight to factors that affect someone's decision. If you don't want to post it in reply to this, send me a private message and I'll post it without your name.

This came to mind as a few weeks ago someone I know tweeted asking for the top 3 reasons affecting/preventing them from attending a conference.

What are the top 3 factors preventing you from playing at a tournament?

This is about someone's decision making process as opposed to picking on any tournament or tournament organisers. So please feel you can be frank.

ER
26-07-2014, 09:27 PM
Hi LNah

As someone who has played and still plays in tournaments overseas, interstate (I am a Melbourne resident) country Victoria as well as local tournaments let me list my reasons of preventing me from entering certain tournaments be they weekenders or longer events.

1) Lack of comfort. Interstate, country Victoria or overseas tournament venues have to be located close to my hotel. (I take special care of that myself). Accommodation also has to be of certain standards acceptable to my preferences. In this category let me add lack of nearby facilities such as restaurants, places of interest, and of course sightseeing areas.

2) Overloaded tournament scheduling. Playing three tournament games daily is definitely not my cup of tea. That's the reason I am playing in weekenders (such as MCC events) where I can get a bye in the late evening round. I find absolutely perfect for my liking tournaments such as the Aus Open or the Aus Champs. One and some times two games a day OK with me.

3) Unfriendly, inhospitable, rude organisers, officials and fellow players!