View Full Version : 35th Trusts Open

31-05-2012, 07:18 PM
Impressive field assembled for the A grade this coming weekend: Russell Dive 2440 Mike Steadman 2353 Bob Smith 2347 Paul Garbett 2345 Ben Hague 2340 Leonard McLaren 2317 Luke Li 2308 Noel Pinic 2267 Ralph Hart 2260 John Duneas 2224 Gino Thornton 2222 Antonio Krstev 2205 Ivan Dordevic 2182 Scott Yang 2102 Peter Stuart 2099 Natahan Goodhue 2070 Alex Huang 2057 Ben Lim 2040 Roger Perry 2018 Leo Guico 2005 William Li 1972 Mark Brimble 1963 Wayne Power 1956 Caleb Wright 1949 Nicole Tsoi 1908 William Zhang 1894 Roy Seabrook 1893 Philip Hair 1876 Simon Ward 1876 Don Eade 1866 Jim Cater 1846 Winston Yao 1838 Brian Liu 1808.

Players' rankings from the top 50 are: 2, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16, 22, 23, 25, 29, 45, 48.

01-06-2012, 08:38 AM
Does look strong, good to see the NZ Olympiad mens team competing.

01-06-2012, 05:11 PM
I think you mean the Open team Chris! And Nicole is in the Women's. Meanwhile I'm off at the Asian Seniors in Parramatta...

02-06-2012, 10:58 PM
35 players in the A grade as it seems that Dordevic was a no-show. Leaderboard after 2 rounds: Leonard McLaren, Ralph Hart, Russell Dive, Michael Steadman, Ben Hague and Gino Thornton 2; Paul Garbett, Scott Yang, Luke Li, Peter Stuart, Noel Pinic and Antonio Krstev 1.5.

Garbett was held to a draw by Stuart in round 2. Bob Smith has got off to a poor start, losing to Roger Perry in round 1 and then only drawing with Alex Huang in round 2. Perhaps, organisational duties having an effect here.

Olympiad teammates Steadman and Dive clash in round 3, McLaren takes on Hague, Thornton vs Hart, Garbett vs Pinic, Krstev vs Li and Yang vs Stuart.

03-06-2012, 04:43 AM
Has the results and round draws.Seems like a similar field to last year when 35 players were in A grade.

03-06-2012, 09:57 PM
In round 3, Steadman beat Dive, McLaren and Hague drew, Hart beat Thornton, Li beat Krstev, Garbett and Pinic drew as did Stuart and Yang.

Round 3 leaderboard: Hart and Steadman 3; Hague, Li, McLaren 2.5 with another 12 players including Dive and Garbett on 2.

In round 4, leaders Hart and Steadman drew and are joined by Hague and Li who beat Garbett and McLaren respectively. Half a point behind, on 3 points, are Dive, Thornton, Gao and Pinic. McLaren, Goodhue, Smith, Stuart and Huang are on 2.5 points.

Round 5 sees Steadman take on Li, Hague meets Hart, Thornton vs Dive and Pinic vs Gao.

In the B grade, Leo Zhang has 3.5 points and leads outright from Judd Zhan, Hilton Jacobs, Alphaeus Ang, Stefan Kolev and Viv Smith, all on 3. Daniel Gong continues his surge up the rankings and has 2.5 points.

In the C grade, Joy Qin has a perfect score and leads Richard Jiang by half a point with Allen Fan, Yun Fei Li, Johnson Yu and Noel Pinic jnr all on 3 points.

04-06-2012, 05:44 PM
In round 5, Hague beat Hart to take the outright lead on 4.5 points. Steadman drew with Li and they were joined on 4 points by Dive and Gao who beat Thornton and Pinic respectively. Hart has 3.5 points with a further 11 players on 3 points.

Congratulations to Ben Hague, the 35th Trusts Open A grade champion. Hague beat Dive to win by half a point from Steadman, who beat Gao. Li finished third on 4.5 after drawing with Hart. 8 players finished on 4 points: Hart, Dive, Gao, McLaren, Pinic, van der Hoorn, Huang and Duneas. Garbett finished on 3.5.

The B grade was won by Hilton Jacobs and Alphaeus Ang with 5 points while in the C grade, Joy Qin achieved a picket fence to finish 1.5 points ahead of Karen Geng and Richard Jiang on 4.5 points. Eugene Ngoi won the junior tournament with 5.5 points, a point ahead of Jonathan Ngoi.

Keong Ang
06-06-2012, 03:17 PM
Full results available on http://www.waitakerechess.org.nz/
Once at the website, just click on one of the subtabs under "35th Trusts Open 2012" tab.