PDA

View Full Version : Chess Books for Children

blue_skies
01-08-2010, 12:07 PM
I was wondering if someone could recommend some good chess books for children. My kids are aged 7 and 9 and have just about reached the limit of what they can learn on their own. They learnt using the Fritz and Chesster software (1 and 2), so know how to play and know a few basic openings and tactics, but do not have a very wide knowledge. They have just started playing in a couple of the local NSW tournaments and are at a reasonable standard for their age but it is very obvious that they are lacking. They can both read well and are very motivated (they can also read chess notation). I guess what I am looking for is books that can be read by the kids themselves without being too dry or complicated (they ARE young) and also not too simple as they are not absolute beginners. I am not great at chess, but from what I understand, they need to grow their understanding of openings, tactics and particularly end game tactics, which seems to let them down a lot. A good puzzle/problems book recommendation would be great also.

I would love to get them a coach, but I don't know if we can quite manage that at the moment. Can anyone tell me what I would expect to pay for a private chess coach in Sydney? I looked at the Academy of Chess, but it is just too far away.
Thanks!!

Garrett
01-08-2010, 06:34 PM
Hi Blue_Skies

Welcome to ChessChat !

I cannot directly answer your question as I am past the advanced beginner stage and do not know any books that would suit your children.

However, if I had two children at that age I would strongly consider signing them up to Chess.com.

It might be worthwhile checking it out.

They have chess video's suited to beginners through to advanced.

They have chess tactics training that increases in difficulty as the players gets better (and they have a rating they can see increase).