PDA

View Full Version : Virus again



Space_Dude
19-09-2009, 06:05 PM
my laptop freezes all the time after 5 minutes of logging in, and there is a new file which made by itself called 'tracing' i tried deleting it but i cant! Also out of nowhere, the computer made a new account!!! HELP!!

ER
19-09-2009, 07:36 PM
my laptop freezes all the time after 5 minutes of logging in, and there is a new file which made by itself called 'tracing' i tried deleting it but i cant! Also out of nowhere, the computer made a new account!!! HELP!!

Go to system restore and RESTORE the system at a date before this happened... what sort of silly websites were you looking at? no anti - virus protection?

Bill Gletsos
19-09-2009, 07:40 PM
What is the name of the new account?

arosar
19-09-2009, 09:11 PM
Shit! Check the traffic monitor immediately also, too. Look for abnormalities. That lappy could turn into a zombie.

AR

Space_Dude
20-09-2009, 07:20 PM
Go to system restore and RESTORE the system at a date before this happened... what sort of silly websites were you looking at? no anti - virus protection?
where is system restore???

ER
20-09-2009, 08:11 PM
Usually Control Panel -> back up and restore Centre
For thorough instructions go to
Windows Help and Support
Type Restore System in Search

Space_Dude
21-09-2009, 11:04 AM
I restore the system and the file is gone but the computer still freezes!! SO ANNOYING!!!

ER
21-09-2009, 12:07 PM
chuck a thank you in between lines, and I might give you some more advice!

Lakshman
21-09-2009, 03:24 PM
chuck a thank you in between lines, and I might give you some more advice!

Good one Elliott.
:laugh:

ER
22-09-2009, 12:08 AM
Good one Elliott.
:laugh:


Tony is a good kid and my friend; however sometimes he gets carried away and needs a bit of "earthing" so he can remember his good manners again! :)

Igor_Goldenberg
23-09-2009, 09:57 PM
Try to boot in a safe mode

Space_Dude
27-09-2009, 11:45 AM
how do i boot in sahe mode??

Basil
27-09-2009, 01:46 PM
how do i boot in sahe mode??
Bloody hell Tony. I did a Google 'boot in safe mode' and got a bazillion answers. The first was this (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315222).

You need to wake up to yourself, stop belly-aching, grow some backbone and stop being a dribbly, wet dribbler. Get a clue. Help yourself. I really hate to see wet people. Like really. And so do girls.

Igor_Goldenberg
28-09-2009, 07:09 PM
how do i boot in sahe mode??
Press and hold F8 while booting. Then choose "boot in safe mode" from the menu

Igor_Goldenberg
28-09-2009, 07:12 PM
Bloody hell Tony. I did a Google 'boot in safe mode' and got a bazillion answers. The first was this (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315222).

You need to wake up to yourself, stop belly-aching, grow some backbone and stop being a dribbly, wet dribbler. Get a clue. Help yourself. I really hate to see wet people. Like really. And so do girls.
What in the hell are you doing visiting the evil web site? :owned: :owned:
:lol:

Basil
28-09-2009, 07:16 PM
What in the hell are you doing visiting the evil web site? :owned: :owned:
:lol:
It was only very quick and I switched into 'RAM vacant mode'. I can remember nothing of what I saw!

Space_Dude
18-10-2009, 11:05 AM
I searched the problem in google, turns out that the new update was the cause... how do i get rid of it if i dont have the install disc??

Desmond
18-10-2009, 07:11 PM
I searched the problem in google, turns out that the new update was the cause... how do i get rid of it if i dont have the install disc??If it's a Windows update you can roll them back in the add/remove programs utility.

Space_Dude
09-11-2009, 08:51 PM
allright i am SICK of THIS FREAKING FREEZES!! I tried system restore but it simply says that theres an error and couldn'tfinish... I don't have the vista CD and i know for sure its not a virus because i cheked it nultiple times in safe modr....
please help...!

Desmond
09-11-2009, 10:35 PM
allright i am SICK of THIS FREAKING FREEZES!! I tried system restore but it simply says that theres an error and couldn'tfinish... I don't have the vista CD and i know for sure its not a virus because i cheked it nultiple times in safe modr....
please help...!How about responding to the suggestions already made, to acknowledge you have tried them.

Ian Murray
10-11-2009, 05:52 PM
Try downloading and running Advanced SystemCare from http://www.iobit.com

ER
11-11-2009, 04:57 AM
Try downloading and running Advanced SystemCare from http://www.iobit.com
You won't get any thanks for that either Ian, just some additional whingeing that it's too expensive! :P

Ian Murray
11-11-2009, 05:31 AM
You won't get any thanks for that either Ian, just some additional whingeing that it's too expensive! :P
You're probably right Jak, although it is freeware :(

ER
11-11-2009, 07:17 AM
You're probably right Jak, although it is freeware :(

lol that's not a reason for Tony not to whinge!!! :P

Hey Tony instead of this http://smileys.on-my-web.com/repository/Computer/computer-22.gif and this http://smileys.on-my-web.com/repository/Computer/computer-18.gif why don't you try this http://smileys.on-my-web.com/repository/Computer/computer-20.GIF It might work! :P

Ian Murray
11-11-2009, 07:26 AM
Hey Tony instead of this http://smileys.on-my-web.com/repository/Computer/computer-22.gif and this http://smileys.on-my-web.com/repository/Computer/computer-18.gif why don't you try this http://smileys.on-my-web.com/repository/Computer/computer-20.GIF or this http://smileys.on-my-web.com/repository/Computer/computer6.gif It might work!
Do you do all the searching for new emoticons on SBS time? :P

ER
11-11-2009, 07:30 AM
Do you do all the searching for new emoticons on SBS time? :P

nop, that's from home! On SBS time I do more important work, like interviewing people for the "AN INTERVIEW" column, studying variations and bickering with A/C! :P
Ops thanks for remind me Tony I have to get to work! :)

Space_Dude
15-11-2009, 04:04 PM
sorry boris. i tried what you said but itstops inthe middle of the process and says it failed. Also when i tried it again it goes on for days!!(literally.i left it on for two days)

Ian Murray
15-11-2009, 06:50 PM
sorry boris. i tried what you said but itstops inthe middle of the process and says it failed. Also when i tried it again it goes on for days!!(literally.i left it on for two days)
If you mean my suggestion rather than Boris', then you do have a problem, don't you? ASC is an 8 Mb download, so try something smaller - Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware (http://download.cnet.com/Malwarebytes-Anti-Malware/3000-8022_4-10804572.html?part=dl-10804572&subj=dl&tag=button) is a little under 4 Mb.

If that fails then Plan Z is starting to look like the only option. Format C: drive, reinstall Windows and your other (legal) applications and start over. But this time be much more careful which web sites you visit and what you download. Stay away from stuff like 'free games'.

Saragossa
16-11-2009, 11:28 PM
You can always just download os x from a torrent and run that. Or damn small linux.

Space_Dude
11-12-2009, 03:01 PM
Got Windows 7 proffesional K from dad and computer is now working fine.
Thanks for all your help!:)

Santa
04-01-2010, 03:10 AM
I searched the problem in google, turns out that the new update was the cause... how do i get rid of it if i dont have the install disc??

What's the kb article?

When you have it sorted out, there''s some advice at isay.js.id.au