PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7



Garvinator
05-05-2009, 06:28 PM
Apparently Microsoft has released its new operating system, windows 7, which is now available for download and 'test' for twelve months. Users then have the option of either buying windows 7 or reverting back to their previous operating system.

This is how I understand it from what I have read so far.

Does anyone know much about this new operating system, as in if you download and install, will I have to re-install all my programs/documents etc again? Or will it be a 'seamless' transfer.

My operating system is XP.

Basically this trial period is an apology for Vista :lol:

Gunner, keep your opinions to yourself as they are already well known, so we can take them for granted and already said.

Bill Gletsos
05-05-2009, 07:14 PM
You cannot install Windows 7 over Windows XP.
You must do a fresh install.

Kaitlin
05-05-2009, 07:37 PM
ah ..I thought that said Williows. like in a covent.. umm nvm

Desmond
05-05-2009, 10:02 PM
3GB download. That could take a while.

Bill Gletsos
05-05-2009, 10:23 PM
3GB download. That could take a while.The 64 bit is 3.05Gb, the 32bit is 2.36Gb.

I downloaded both versions simultaneously and they came down in under 2 hours.

Capablanca-Fan
06-05-2009, 12:03 AM
Given the problems with Vista, and since XP is working adequately, it would be best to leave well enough alone for the time being.

Garrett
06-05-2009, 04:20 AM
Given the problems with Vista, and since XP is working adequately, it would be best to leave well enough alone for the time being.

agreed. Some of my chess programs wont work under Vista that were doing fine under XP (I had little choice as Vista was default on my new laptop).

If it aint broke.........

cheers
Garrett.

Ian Murray
06-05-2009, 07:37 AM
Based on reviewers' comments so far (e.g. http://blogs.zdnet.com/Bott/?p=958&tag=nl.e589) it seems Microsoft has learnt its lessons from Vista with Win7.

Before trying the release candidate, I'd make sure I had an XP SP3 backup CD on hand. I have one, created by following the steps at www.howtohaven.com/system/slipstream-xp-service-pack-3.shtml

Ian Murray
06-05-2009, 07:45 AM
agreed. Some of my chess programs wont work under Vista that were doing fine under XP (I had little choice as Vista was default on my new laptop).
Check for Vista-compatible driver updates - I use Driver Detective (http://wwwdriverdetective.com)

Ian Murray
06-05-2009, 08:02 AM
...will I have to re-install all my programs/documents etc again? ...
Upgrading op systems won't overwrite existing applications (not unless you wanted to Format C: first and start with a clean slate, which of course you don't want to do).

See also #8

Desmond
06-05-2009, 08:54 AM
The 64 bit is 3.05Gb, the 32bit is 2.36Gb.Yeah was looking at the 64-bit version. When is Microsoft going to bite the bullet and stop bringing out 32-bit operating systems?


I downloaded both versions simultaneously and they came down in under 2 hours.Your connection must be a lot better than mine.

Desmond
06-05-2009, 09:13 AM
Microsoft releases final Windows 7 system requirements (http://blogs.zdnet.com/microsoft/?p=2643)

Here are the minimum Windows 7 system requirements Microsoft released on April 30 when it made available the Release Candidate to MSDN and TechNet testers:

1 GHz processor (32- or 64-bit)
1 GB of RAM (32-bit); 2 GB of RAM (64-bit)
16 GB of available disk space (32-bit); 20 GB of avaiable disk space (64-bit)
DirectX 9 graphics device with WDDM 1.0 or higher driver

Ian Murray
06-05-2009, 11:09 AM
Microsoft releases final Windows 7 system requirements (http://blogs.zdnet.com/microsoft/?p=2643)

Here are the minimum Windows 7 system requirements Microsoft released on April 30 when it made available the Release Candidate to MSDN and TechNet testers:

1 GHz processor (32- or 64-bit)
1 GB of RAM (32-bit); 2 GB of RAM (64-bit)
16 GB of available disk space (32-bit); 20 GB of avaiable disk space (64-bit)
DirectX 9 graphics device with WDDM 1.0 or higher driver
2 gig of RAM leaves me floundering. Oh for the good old days, when we managed quite comfortably with 64K of RAM and a 40 meg hard drive

Desmond
06-05-2009, 11:29 AM
2 gig of RAM leaves me floundering. Oh for the good old days, when we managed quite comfortably with 64K of RAM and a 40 meg hard driveWhat leaves me floundering at the moment is the Nehalem memory configurations.
No more installing memory in pairs.
FSB speed is dependent on memory configuration.
3 memory channels per CPU.
Use an even number of ranks per channel.
Channels to have equal memory configuration.
Install DIMMs in a channel in descending order.
etc.

Capablanca-Fan
06-05-2009, 12:27 PM
2 gig of RAM leaves me floundering. Oh for the good old days, when we managed quite comfortably with 64K of RAM and a 40 meg hard drive
Yeah, and GeoWorks was a high-class DTP that was fast even under those conditions and on a 386.