Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    CC Rookie
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    20

    Making an illegal move in Blitz and Rapid

    Hi,

    Can anyone explain the difference between these 2 rules, the first one is B6 in Rapid rule and the second is C3 in Blitz rule? As I understand, in rapid game, making an illegal move is not considered as a loss as in Blitz. Am I correct?


    B6 (Rapid)
    An illegal move is completed once the opponent’s clock has been started. The opponent is then entitled to claim that the player completed an illegal move before the claimant has made his move. Only after such a claim, shall the arbiter make a ruling. However, if both Kings are in check or the promotion of a pawn is not completed, the arbiter shall intervene, if possible.


    C3 (Blitz)
    An illegal move is completed once the opponent’s clock has been started. The opponent is entitled to claim a win before he has made his own move. However, if the opponent cannot checkmate the player’s king by any possible series of legal moves with the most unskilled counterplay, then the claimant is entitled to claim a draw before he
    has made his own move. Once the opponent has made his own move, an illegal move cannot be corrected

    My best,
    Chang

  2. #2
    Reader in Slood Dynamics Rincewind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The multiverse
    Posts
    21,575
    Quote Originally Posted by Chang
    Can anyone explain the difference between these 2 rules, the first one is B6 in Rapid rule and the second is C3 in Blitz rule? As I understand, in rapid game, making an illegal move is not considered as a loss as in Blitz. Am I correct?
    That is correct. In chess an illegal move generally means you rewind the game to the position where the irregularity occurred, the illegal move is corrected and then play continues from there.

    In rapid, this is generally not possible to rewind more than 1 move as the score is usually not available. Therefore the illegal moves which are corrected are ones that have just occurred. The rule points out there are particular cases when an arbiter should intervene without a claim.

    The classical/rapid penalty for making an illegal move is the opponent get an additional 2 minutes thinking time for the first two offences. After the third illegal move by one player in a single game, the arbiter should declare the game won to to the opponent (providing a legal sequences of moves leading to mate exist).

    In Blitz the game is won by the opponent who claims even on the first offense providing a legal sequence of moves leading to mate exist, otherwise it is drawn.

    Hope this helps explain it.
    So einfach wie möglich, aber nicht einfacher - Albert Einstein

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Arbiter's Corner: Notes & Queries
    By arosar in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 397
    Last Post: 08-03-2019, 08:03 PM
  2. Game agreed drawn after one players flag fall.
    By Garvinator in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 19-05-2006, 10:46 AM
  3. New Laws of Chess as of 1st July 2005
    By Bill Gletsos in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 129
    Last Post: 02-11-2005, 09:45 PM
  4. Pressing the clock before promoting
    By Kevin Bonham in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 07-01-2005, 11:01 PM
  5. Weekend Time Controls
    By shaun in forum Australian Chess
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 14-02-2004, 05:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •