Page 1 of 29 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 422
  1. #1
    CC International Master Mischa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,381

    clock not adding increment

    [QUOTE]Can a player be ruled to be lost on time when the arbiter has acknowledged the clock is faulty?
    "6.11 Every indication given by the clocks considered to be conclusive in the absence of any evident defect. A chess clock with an evident defect shall be replaced. The arbiter shall use his best judgement when determining the times to be shown on the replacement chess clock."
    Last edited by Mischa; 07-01-2007 at 08:30 PM.

  2. #2
    CC Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    16,976
    Yes the player can still lose on time (as confirmed by IA Gary Bekker)
    Interested in Chess Lessons?
    Email webbaron!@gmail.com for more Info!

  3. #3
    CC International Master Mischa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,381
    Was he aware the clock was defective and that the arbiter had confirmed that he knew the clock was defective?

  4. #4
    Reader in Slood Dynamics Rincewind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The multiverse
    Posts
    21,575
    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelBaron
    Yes the player can still lose on time (as confirmed by IA Gary Bekker)
    If the clock is known to be faulty how can it be used as evidence that the game has been lost? Isn't that like using a faulty program to mark an exam and using the results even though you know that the program is faulty?
    So einfach wie möglich, aber nicht einfacher - Albert Einstein

  5. #5
    CC International Master Mischa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,381
    Well obviously it can if you are a DArK HORSE

  6. #6
    CC International Master Bereaved's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,222
    I find this debate interesting in that I have not infrequently found that a clock has been incorrectly set in an MCC event that I am running, and have had to adjust the times accordingly, to indicate the amount of time not allotted. This is usually a very easy thing given that the scoresheets are up to date. In the event of a flag fall owing to this, a glance at my watch can quite quickly determine the veracity of a claim to this effect, ie clock fault, and it is relatively simple to do so, owing to basic mathematics of taking away time of start versus time elapsed via the chess clock.

    Interested in others opinions on what they would do in this matter,

    Take care and God Bless, Macavity

  7. #7
    . eclectic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,840
    The net is full of programs promising corrective increments for faulty clocks.

  8. #8
    CC International Master Mischa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,381
    How on earth can a player lose when he is given a defective piece of equipment?
    THe Arbiter and one of the appeals commitee agreed that the clock was defective
    The Arbiter was wrong not to replace the defective equipment
    instead he called a loss for the unlucky victim of said defective clock...
    I doubt very much that FIDE would uphold this decision
    I am surprised that the arbiter did not use common sense ...

  9. #9
    CC Grandmaster Garvinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    13,308
    Onto the situation at hand.

    Did the player stop the clocks before time ran out and claim the clocks were defective?

    Macavity, I dont think incorrect clock setting has been mentioned so far, do you have further information?

  10. #10
    Illuminati Bill Gletsos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    17,058
    Quote Originally Posted by Mischa
    How on earth can a player lose when he is given a defective piece of equipment?
    THe Arbiter and one of the appeals commitee agreed that the clock was defective
    The Arbiter was wrong not to replace the defective equipment
    instead he called a loss for the unlucky victim of said defective clock...
    I doubt very much that FIDE would uphold this decision
    I am surprised that the arbiter did not use common sense ...
    It would benefical to know what the actual defect of the clock was as it may well be the case that the defect does not negate the loss on time.
    e.g. a player is supposed to be getting a 10 second increment but is getting a larger increment.
    The Force can have a strong influence on the weak-minded.
    Mos Eisley spaceport The toolbox. You will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy.

  11. #11
    CC International Master Mischa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,381
    why are you asking Macavity?

  12. #12
    CC International Master Mischa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,381
    I think it was a 30 second increment

  13. #13
    CC International Master Bereaved's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,222
    It is apparent that the increment was to have been +30 secs per move but was adding 25, according to at least one eye witness, and the arbiter,

    Take care and God Bless, Macavity

  14. #14
    CC International Master Mischa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,381
    I t was not a blitz game it was 30 second increment
    It was move 25
    the game was undecided...no apparent advantage
    the arbiter apologised and said that he noticed the clock was defective and was just waiting for the move to be made before he moved in.

  15. #15
    Monster of the deep Kevin Bonham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    40,334
    Just to be on the safe side I've deleted a few posts that were getting towards dodgy territory (also I deleted one of mine which was outdated as some of the questions had been answered - that's the one to which Mischa's comment about it being not rapid or blitz applies.)

    When there is a loss on time caused by a faulty clock setting then the arbiter uses their best judgement to determine what the correct time should be.

    If the arbiter's best judgement is that the player has still lost on time then the arbiter should award the game to the opponent.

    With clocks using increments that would not be a common scenario unless the clocks show negative time. Many digital clocks freeze upon time expiring, which usually results in players noticing this immediately.
    Moderation Requests: All requests for, comments about, or questions about moderation of any kind including thread changes must be posted in the Help and Feedback section and not on the thread in question. (Or by private message for routine changes or sensitive matters.)

    ACF Newsletter Information - All Australian players and administrators should subscribe and check each issue for relevant notices

    My psephology/politics site (token chess references only) : http://kevinbonham.blogspot.com.au/ Politics twitter feed https://twitter.com/kevinbonham

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Opponent Forgets to Press Clock - What to Do?
    By bioniclime in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 63
    Last Post: 08-08-2007, 04:17 PM
  2. Can time be added to a player's clock after flagfall?
    By Desmond in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 06-09-2006, 11:39 AM
  3. chess clock software ?
    By Bijan in forum Computer Chess
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20-03-2006, 06:21 PM
  4. Pressing the clock before promoting
    By Kevin Bonham in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 07-01-2005, 11:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •