Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Help me choose..

Ok,

I started playing chess "seriously" about 6 months ago. I'm unrated, but I'm guessing I'm around about 1100-1200ish in strength (KB might shatter my illusions there ).

I've been playing King's Indian type stuff almost exclusively, KID or Pirc as Black, and KIA as white.. or so I thought. I only realised recently that if Black plays 1...e5 then I am not strictly playing the KIA, but instead the Ponziani or King's Pawn game. Given it's lack of popularity (and therefore useful info for me to study), I'm beginning to think I'd be better off playing a more conventional opening as white.

The eternal question is: the Ruy, or should I turn to the dark side and play...

1.d4!?

The volume of variations, and defences for either e4 or d4 is obviously not something I'm going to digest over the weekend. I read somewhere that QP openings are more subtle, but that KP openings tend to be more savage.

Help me, people suggestions of lines/variations to avoid or aim for (in a general sense) would be mucho appreciated

CC International Master
    Quote Originally Posted by Eurotrash
    Ok,

I started playing chess "seriously" about 6 months ago. I'm unrated, but I'm guessing I'm around about 1100-1200ish in strength (KB might shatter my illusions there ).

I've been playing King's Indian type stuff almost exclusively, KID or Pirc as Black, and KIA as white.. or so I thought. I only realised recently that if Black plays 1...e5 then I am not strictly playing the KIA, but instead the Ponziani or King's Pawn game. Given it's lack of popularity (and therefore useful info for me to study), I'm beginning to think I'd be better off playing a more conventional opening as white.

The eternal question is: the Ruy, or should I turn to the dark side and play...

1.d4!?