Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    CC International Master ElevatorEscapee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,125

    Interesting little endgame study

    This is the position that Garry W showed me a couple of weeks back:

    FEN Viewer


    White is to play.

    Black is threatening to promote his pawn on d2, either by moving his Bishop to f3 checking the White king, or simply by playing the Bishop to e2, threatening to promote on the next move.

    With best play, can White draw?

    I thought the solution was quite clever and worth sharing here, but can anyone figure it out by themselves first?
    "On my chess set, all the pawns are Hamburglers" ~ Homer Simpson.

  2. #2
    CC Candidate Master Pharoah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    37
    cd3?

    (Did I say that right? I guess it could also be Rd3.)

    It gets rid of his chance of promotion.

  3. #3
    CC International Master ElevatorEscapee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,125

    Smile

    Hi Pharoah, thank you for posting.

    1.Rd3 was the first move I tried when first faced with this problem!

    (Note that in chess notation we would only use 1.cd3 only if a pawn on the 'c' file was making a capture on d3. Where another piece is involved we use the capital letter for that piece (eg R for Rook) with the exception of "N" for Knight, as we don't want it to get confused with the King! ).

    The trouble with 1.Rd3 however is that after:

    1.Rd3 Bf3+

    White is now in check, and must either move his king, or capture the bishop with his rook.

    2.Rxf3 leads to an immediate 2... d2-d1=Q (Black promotes to a Queen giving him a winning endgame of King, Queen & Pawn versus King & Rook).

    Moving the King on the second move is no less palatable for White, eg:

    2.Ka7 d2-d1=Q
    3.Rxd1 (capturing the queen) 3... Bxd1 (Black captures the rook)

    Black now has a position of King, Pawn & Bishop versues a lone King. Black will be able to promote his pawn (on d3) to a Queen by keeping White's King away from the promotion square with his own King & Bishop.

    That seems to rule out the first move 1.Rd3, however White has some other first moves that you might like to try. What can White do to prevent Black from promoting that pawn within the next couple of moves?
    Last edited by ElevatorEscapee; 14-06-2006 at 08:49 AM.
    "On my chess set, all the pawns are Hamburglers" ~ Homer Simpson.

  4. #4
    CC Grandmaster Desmond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    The island
    Posts
    13,352
    Further to EE's post, there is an interesting nuance in the line described.

    1. Rd3 Bf3+
    2. Kb8 d1=Q
    3. Kc7


    And now the white king is half a step behind the pawn. However the pawn cannot simply win the foot race due to the bishop needing to get out the way first. EG:

    3. ... d5
    4. Kd6 d4
    5. Kd5 d3
    6. Kd4 d2
    7. Kd3 and wins the pawn next move.

    I thought this worth mentioning because although it is not the solution, it may be an idea that the solution requires in some variation that I haven't thought of. Black finds the win with:

    3. ... d5
    4. Kd6 Bf3 -+
    So what's your excuse? To run like the devil's chasing you.

    See you in another life, brotha.

  5. #5
    CC International Master ElevatorEscapee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,125

    Smile

    Thanks Boris, but what about in your varition if after:

    1.Rd3 Bf3+
    2.Kb8 d1=Q
    3.Kc7

    Black were to play:

    3... Qxd3 (capturing the rook) ?
    "On my chess set, all the pawns are Hamburglers" ~ Homer Simpson.

  6. #6
    CC Grandmaster Desmond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    The island
    Posts
    13,352
    Quote Originally Posted by ElevatorEscapee
    Thanks Boris, but what about in your varition if after:

    1.Rd3 Bf3+
    2.Kb8 d1=Q
    3.Kc7

    Black were to play:

    3... Qxd3 (capturing the rook) ?
    ahem... I appear to have omited a move

    3. Rxd1 Bxd1
    4. Kc7 etc

    To be fair, I didn't point out the mistakes in your notation
    So what's your excuse? To run like the devil's chasing you.

    See you in another life, brotha.

  7. #7
    CC International Master ElevatorEscapee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,125
    Thanks for the clarification Boris

    In your analysis, Boris, you are of course correct, after winning the rook, Black can simply move his pawn to a white square, protect it with his Bishop (so the White king can't capture it) and bring up his own King to decide the matter.

    I would like to apologize for any confusion I may have caused with my style of notation. By alternating between shorterened algebraic and extended algebraic I was trying to make sure that people understood the moves I was attempting to describe rather than strictly trying to adhere to one form of notation.
    "On my chess set, all the pawns are Hamburglers" ~ Homer Simpson.

  8. #8
    CC Grandmaster Desmond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    The island
    Posts
    13,352
    Quote Originally Posted by ElevatorEscapee
    Thanks for the clarification Boris

    In your analysis, Boris, you are of course correct, after winning the rook, Black can simply move his pawn to a white square, protect it with his Bishop (so the White king can't capture it) and bring up his own King to decide the matter.

    I would like to apologize for any confusion I may have caused with my style of notation. By alternating between shorterened algebraic and extended algebraic I was trying to make sure that people understood the moves I was attempting to describe rather than strictly trying to adhere to one form of notation.
    No worries, but I was more referring to Kh7 (should be Ka7 I assume) and d7-d8 (should be d2-d1) and Rxd8 (should be Rxd1)

    Another note-worthy try is:
    1. Rh3+ Kg7
    2. Rg3+ hoping for Kf6(or f7/f8) when
    3. Rd3 Bf3+ may be met by
    4. Rxf3+

    Black can of course avoid this by staying off the f-file and snaking the K up to attack the R.
    So what's your excuse? To run like the devil's chasing you.

    See you in another life, brotha.

  9. #9
    CC International Master ElevatorEscapee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,125
    Thanks Boris, to avoid confusion to the readers I have edited my original post with your corrections.

    You are nearly there! Now what happens when Black tries to zig-zag the King up to attack the rook?
    "On my chess set, all the pawns are Hamburglers" ~ Homer Simpson.

  10. #10
    CC Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    5,534
    Very difficult. I don't think I'd found it during the tournament game. Even though it seems easy after you worked it out.

  11. #11
    CC Grandmaster Desmond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    The island
    Posts
    13,352
    Found it There was another theme that I hadn't noticed which lead me to the solution. Shall I post the solution or let others have a go?
    So what's your excuse? To run like the devil's chasing you.

    See you in another life, brotha.

  12. #12
    Account Permanently Banned Arrogant-One's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    925
    Quote Originally Posted by Boris
    Further to EE's post, there is an interesting nuance in the line described.

    1. Rd3 Bf3+
    2. Kb8 d1=Q
    3. Kc7


    3. ... d5
    4. Kd6 d4
    5. Kd5 d3
    6. Kd4 d2
    7. Kd3 and wins the pawn next move.

    I thought this worth mentioning because although it is not the solution, it may be an idea ...
    Actually Boris, Black's move 3 would be just to take the Rook at d3 with the newly promoted pawn, and not d5.

  13. #13
    Account Permanently Banned Arrogant-One's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    925
    Quote Originally Posted by Boris
    Found it There was another theme that I hadn't noticed which lead me to the solution. Shall I post the solution or let others have a go?
    I believe I too have found it. Very clever puzzle. EE, do you want me to post the solution?

  14. #14
    CC Grandmaster Desmond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    The island
    Posts
    13,352
    Quote Originally Posted by Arrogant-One
    Actually Boris, Black's move 3 would be just to take the Rook at d3 with the newly promoted pawn, and not d5.
    Thanks Captain Obvious ... did you notice that EE had already pointed this out and I had replied some days ago?
    So what's your excuse? To run like the devil's chasing you.

    See you in another life, brotha.

  15. #15
    Account Permanently Banned Arrogant-One's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    925
    Quote Originally Posted by ElevatorEscapee
    This is the position that Garry W showed me a couple of weeks back:

    FEN Viewer


    White is to play.

    Black is threatening to promote his pawn on d2, either by moving his Bishop to f3 checking the White king, or simply by playing the Bishop to e2, threatening to promote on the next move.

    With best play, can White draw?

    I thought the solution was quite clever and worth sharing here, but can anyone figure it out by themselves first?
    Okay, its been up for four days so I am going to post the solution for the benefit of all BB users.

    When I first looked at the problem I nearly thought I had solved it with the following variation:

    1.) Rc8+ Kg7
    2.) Rc7+ Kf6
    3.) Rd7 Bf3+
    4.) Ka7 d1=Q
    5.) Rxd6+ QxR=

    Stalemate.

    But of course this variation only works if Black plays into Whites hand. I was unable to resolve what White could do if Black doesn't play Kf6 and instead goes for the rook the other way, ie. Kf8.

    Then part of the answer came to me - Get the King on the 8th file and you don't have to worry about the pesky Bf3+ anymore. Combining this knowledge
    with my first discovery I found the following solution:

    1.) Rh3+ Kg7
    2.) Rg3+

    Now, there are two main variations. If

    2.) ... Kf6 or Kf7 or Kf8 then Rd3 wins because the Bf3+ is met by RxB+, and then the Rook can go back to the d3 square

    The second variation is this:

    2.) ... Kh6 attempting to march the King up to confront the Rook.

    But this move also loses to Rd3 because if Black now plays Bf3+, the White King goes to a7, and we get my original variation.

    1.) Rh3+ Kg7
    2.) Rg3+ Kh6
    3.) Rd3 Bf3+
    4.) Ka7 d1=Q
    5.) Rxd6+

    and the Queen is forced to take the Rook with a stalemate resulting.

    If the Queen doesn't take the rook, and instead moves the King then Rook takes Queen next move leads to a traditional Rook v Bishop draw.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Interesting Websites
    By arosar in forum Non-Chess
    Replies: 66
    Last Post: 19-02-2012, 06:29 AM
  2. Endgame books
    By Southpaw Jim in forum Chess Training
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-08-2006, 10:39 AM
  3. The endgame and conspiracies
    By qpawn in forum General Chess Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19-03-2006, 05:14 PM
  4. input for book creation/training software
    By gambitron in forum Chess Training
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25-02-2006, 06:26 PM
  5. software for EASY book editing/study
    By gambitron in forum The 1337 Lounge
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2005, 11:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •