Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Broadband question

Hey Bazza . . .why change your avatar mate? Is that the hamster that's on channel 10 on weekday mornings?

To all - any1 got any experience with Telstra Bigpond? They recently dropped prices to $29.95/mth. How's their service and performance like?

Cheers boys!!

AR

Reader in Slood Dynamics Rincewind's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by arosar
    Hey Bazza . . .why change your avatar mate? Is that the hamster that's on channel 10 on weekday mornings?
    Yes, it is Boss, one of the Ham-Ham gang from Hamtaro. A change is as good as a holiday.

To all - any1 got any experience with Telstra Bigpond? They recently dropped prices to $29.95/mth. How's their service and performance like?
    Bigpond have a very bad name in the broadband marketplace. I've got no experience with using them as an ISP but they say where there is smoke, there's fire. The amount of smoke going around with Bigpond there must be one healthy fire there somewhere.

The 29.95 plan only got announced Monday I think but from what I heard a lot of ISPs who buy their bandwidth from Telstra wholesale were upset because theyr were undercutting the wholesale rate. The ACCC were also going to investigate to see if the pricing plan was anti-competitive.
    So einfach wie möglich, aber nicht einfacher - Albert Einstein

chmod -x /bin/chmod
    I signed up with cable, since there was an offer for free two months, free install = save about 310$ and its now a 10G limit then a 64 cap.

Its gotta be faster than ADSL, and iinet is the best ADSL service, yet there are many downtimes of 2 hour blocks. Thats the only disadvantage with ADSL, since the ISP relies on the phone line. So when big storms occur, gl getting on the net.

Cable is 10MBIT uncapped down, 128 up. You basically share bandwidth with people in your street so it ends up letting you download at about half a megabyte per second, which is about 10 times faster than my 512k(bit) ADSL.