Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    CC Grandmaster arosar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,046

    2005 NSW State Ch. Reserves and U1600

    [Event "2005 NSW Ch"]
    [Site "?"]
    [Date "2005.09.04"]
    [Round "3"]
    [White "Navarro, Sim"]
    [Black "Xu, William"]
    [Result "1-0"]
    [ECO "D02"]
    [PlyCount "103"]
    [EventDate "2005.08.28"]
    [SourceDate "2005.09.04"]

    PGN Viewer
     

  2. #2
    CC Grandmaster arosar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,046
    [Event "2005 NSW Ch"]
    [Site "?"]
    [Date "2005.09.04"]
    [Round "3"]
    [White "Hoving, E."]
    [Black "Miranda, A."]
    [Result "1/2-1/2"]
    [ECO "C15"]
    [PlyCount "43"]
    [EventDate "2005.08.28"]
    [SourceDate "2005.09.04"]

    PGN Viewer
     

  3. #3
    CC Candidate Master
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    59
    Adrian should not accepted the draw. He was winning in the final position.

  4. #4
    CC resident nutcase Trent Parker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Picton, The Dilly, NSW
    Posts
    2,934
    Hmm so Eliot Hoving plays the wrinklemann - Riemer Gambit (its called something like that....)
    GO THE DRAGONS!
    GO Western Sydney Wanderers!
    Quote Originally Posted by Adamski's signature
    God exists. Short and to the point.
    This is the reason I do not wade into religion threads.

  5. #5
    CC Candidate Master
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    59
    Just look at the new pairings for U1600. Why the top seed, Adrian Miranda is playing the same opponent - Ted Wong again?

  6. #6
    CC International Master
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,074
    Under the rules Wong and Miranda can be paired to play each other even though they were paired against each other previously. This is because their 2nd round game was not actually played as Wong lost on forfeit. This is an easy detail to miss, but you can tell it was a forfeit because of the "+" sign for Miranda and the "-" sign for Wong in the crosstable.

  7. #7
    CC International Master four four two's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    DeltaQuadrant4...
    Posts
    1,771
    That sounds like a crazy rule,Imean cant he forfeit again and give Miranda a decisive advantage?

  8. #8
    Illuminati Bill Gletsos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    16,544
    Quote Originally Posted by four four two
    That sounds like a crazy rule,Imean cant he forfeit again and give Miranda a decisive advantage?
    It is as per FIDE Swiss rule F.2 which states: Byes, and pairing not actually played, or lost by one of the players due to arriving late or not at all, will not be taken into account with respect to colour, Such a pairing is not considered to be illegal in future rounds.
    The Force can have a strong influence on the weak-minded.

  9. #9
    CC International Master four four two's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    DeltaQuadrant4...
    Posts
    1,771
    So is it potentially possible for someone to purposely forfeit games knowing full well they are likely to be paired again? Cant people rig results this way?

  10. #10
    Illuminati Bill Gletsos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    16,544
    Quote Originally Posted by four four two
    So is it potentially possible for someone to purposely forfeit games knowing full well they are likely to be paired again? Cant people rig results this way?
    Possibly, however if a player forfeited twice to the same opponent then no doubt the Arbiter would report him to their State Association for disciplinary action.
    The Force can have a strong influence on the weak-minded.

  11. #11
    CC International Master four four two's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    DeltaQuadrant4...
    Posts
    1,771
    But would the result still stand in regards to the tournament?

  12. #12
    Illuminati Bill Gletsos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    16,544
    Quote Originally Posted by four four two
    But would the result still stand in regards to the tournament?
    Their opponent has done nothing wrong. As such I dont see how the arbiter could overturn it.
    The Force can have a strong influence on the weak-minded.

  13. #13
    CC International Master four four two's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    DeltaQuadrant4...
    Posts
    1,771
    Wait a sec,are you saying if someone purposely throws games by forfeiting that there isnt something wrong going on?

  14. #14
    CC Grandmaster Garvinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    13,073
    While still following the rules closely, i think most arbiters would avoid pairing players together when one of them has forfeited to the other earlier in the tournament. Of course sometimes, repairing the players is the only legal pairing.

    I remember Geurt referring to a situation like this recently on www.chesscafe.com

  15. #15
    Illuminati Bill Gletsos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    16,544
    Quote Originally Posted by four four two
    Wait a sec,are you saying if someone purposely throws games by forfeiting that there isnt something wrong going on?
    Certainly with regards the person who has forfeited there is and it is unacceptable. However you might be hard pressed to prove that their opponent who has turned up to play is part of it.
    The Force can have a strong influence on the weak-minded.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •