Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    CC Grandmaster arosar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,047

    Chessbase: Notes & Queries

    Any idea how I can publish games straight to my Word or Publisher (or other desktop publishing app) without resorting to PGN?

    AR

  2. #2
    chmod -x /bin/chmod
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3,193
    Text Output, which also supports diagrams, if you have the right fonts.

    Then just c&p.

  3. #3
    CC Grandmaster arosar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,047
    Anybody know how I can create a .cbv file?

    Cheers,

    AR

  4. #4
    Illuminati Bill Gletsos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    17,058
    Yes.
    After selecting the database icon in Chessbase just do a ctrl-z

  5. #5
    Account Permanently Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    5,680
    Quote Originally Posted by arosar
    Anybody know how I can create a .cbv file?

    Cheers,

    AR
    Phil O'Connor created full instructions in picture form on the Box Hill web-site to assist with our members who want to load their games into boxhillchess.org.au

    starter
    PS How hospitable is that. 8)

  6. #6
    CC Grandmaster arosar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,047
    Thanks starter. Very hospitable indeed. In fact, I actually received an email, out of the blue, from some bloke in Vic with an ethnic name. Apparently he's quite famous down there. He was telling me about some tourn down in Borovnia or some place. So I am very thankful actually.

    AR

  7. #7
    CC Grandmaster arosar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,047
    Sadly, the CB tech support only talks about searching games mainly and not about actually entering them. I've been meaning to ask this actually.

    When entering games for a tournament, is there a fast way of entering repeated data like the individual players' details? It seems that I have to enter them again and again for each round.

    AR

  8. #8
    CC FIDE Master Duff McKagan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    711
    If you have the playerbase installed you can click on the ' ? ' icon after typing in part of the player's name and it will bring up a box of players you can choose from.
    Btw ChessBase 9 does not impress at first sight, it looks like chessbase 8 with a few "additions" that make it less enjoyable to use. What do other ChessBase 9 users out there think? The playerbase is nice though and of course the bigbase 2004 that comes with the package.
    How can I make ChessBase 9 look like ChessBase 8? the game lists look cluttered with all of the columns.

  9. #9
    CC Rookie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7

    Chessbase9

    You can configure the gamelists however you like by right clicking the mouse on the column headers. You can add, delete or vary the width of any column with that. You can also get the database page like Chessbase8 by clicking on View / Symbols at the database page. Don't use Small symbols as the programmers at Chesbase have warned me that there are problems with these that they are working on at the moment.

    I like the new features of Chessbase9. I'm glad it is like Chessbase8 with additions as I would hate to lose the experience I have built up with the previous versions. I have a few things I would like to see in Chessbase9, but I am a specialist user. Chessbase9 is a little slow on my machine, but I suppose it is time to upgrade my machine anyway.

    Paul Dunn

  10. #10
    CC Grandmaster arosar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,047
    Is it possible to publish figurine notation directly from CB into word or other publishing app? (I know, PGNs are easier to work with).

    Cheers,

    AR

  11. #11
    Reader in Slood Dynamics Rincewind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The multiverse
    Posts
    21,575
    Quote Originally Posted by arosar
    Is it possible to publish figurine notation directly from CB into word or other publishing app? (I know, PGNs are easier to work with).
    SCID allows you to export games directly into LaTeX format. Although this is probably not the answer you were after, it is interesting nonetheless. SCID is also free and has 99% of the useful features of CB (IMHO).
    So einfach wie möglich, aber nicht einfacher - Albert Einstein

  12. #12
    CC Grandmaster arosar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,047
    Anyone of you blokes know how I can save a position in CB as FEN? Even possible?

    Cheers,

    AR

  13. #13
    CC Candidate Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    399
    Quote Originally Posted by arosar
    Anyone of you blokes know how I can save a position in CB as FEN? Even possible?

    Cheers,

    AR
    if you click through a game and then go Edit - Copy - Copy Position
    and then paste into notepad isn't that FEN format?
    i'm no expert but that looks to be a FEN description to me - could be wrong though. could always try saving this FEN as a text file.

    when you do a setup (S) you can paste FEN in and out
    but saves as CBH format.
    Last edited by oscar; 28-09-2005 at 09:43 PM.

  14. #14
    CC Grandmaster arosar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,047
    Quote Originally Posted by oscar
    if you click through a game and then go Edit - Copy - Copy Position
    and then paste into notepad isn't that FEN format?
    i'm no expert but that looks to be a FEN description to me - could be wrong though. could always try saving this FEN as a text file.
    Yes, you are right! Thanks!

    AR

  15. #15
    CC Grandmaster arosar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,047
    In CB9, is there anyway of changing the players list to just the alphabet: A, B, C....and so on?

    The problem I have in players view is that the surnames are listed and it takes so long to scroll to the desired name.

    Thanks,

    AR

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Arbiter's Corner: Notes & Queries
    By arosar in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 397
    Last Post: 08-03-2019, 08:03 PM
  2. FRITZ and Chessbase
    By JGB in forum Computer Chess
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-03-2008, 09:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •