Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Frosty vs ElevatorEscapee

OK, I'll kick things off .... hmmmm .... how about:

1.b4

just to make things interesting. I've never tried to play the Orang-Utan before, so this might be a bit of fun...
    “As you perhaps know, I haven't always been a Christian. I didn't go to religion to make me happy. I always knew a bottle of port would do that. If you want a religion to make you feel really comfortable, I certainly don't recommend Christianity.” -- C.S.Lewis

CC International Master ElevatorEscapee's Avatar
    *EE experiences the following internal monologue prior to his first move.

Ah, up to monkey business right from the start. I've always thought that White was saying "welcome to the jungle" when he plays that as a first move. (Oh great, now I'll have that song going through my head for the whole game!)

I think I remember this opening. If Black plays the 'natural' moves 1... e5 2.Bb2 Nc6? (this looks like a good move as it 1) develops a piece, 2) defends Black's attacked pawn on e5 and 3) attacks White's own undefended pawn on b4. Black reasons that if a move that does two things at once is considered good, then a move that does three things at once must be even better!

Then he runs into the continuation 3.b5 (uh-oh, knight's attacked, better move it) 3... Nd4 (blocking the e5 pawn from capture by the bishop and attacking the undefended pawn on b5 ... again a move with multiple purpose, therefore it must be good!). 4.e3 (uh-oh, knight is attacked again and can't now take the pawn on b5 because the Bishop on f1 defends it.) Poor Black, if only he could find a move that defended both the knight and pawn at the same time he would be ok.

I think the moral of this variation is that moves that do two things at once are good, but beware of moves that do three things at once.

I don't think I'll go into that line, as I have a sneaking suspicion that my opponent might be aware of it...

Better do something conservative instead: