Situation from tournament I am involved in:
Following report is from the arbiter (not me).
Tonight’s game between James and Stuart was certainly one of the more remarkable games played at The Gap Chess Club, even for James whose standard of remarkableness is quite high. During the game both players moved their queens to squares that led to their capture with no compensation (a la the “Willcock gambit”) – Stuart first at move 10, and James at move 40. Prior to James’ move 40 blunder he was leading by Q+R+N against a lone rook. Hence the shock to those in Room D6 when James and Stuart left the tournament room (Room D5) to inform the DOP that the game had ended in an agreed draw.
However the greatest astonishment was left to when the scoresheets were reconstructed for post-match analysis.
It turned out that James had achieved checkmate at move 22.
Both players were unaware of this and Stuart avoided losing the game by unknowingly making an illegal move. Even then, a simple QxR would have been checkmate again. However James captured the rook with his bishop, and then Stuart moved his knight to the f7 square where his rook had been, thus making the game ‘legal’ again. James has never beaten Stuart in a tournament game, and won’t come any closer than tonight, but at least achieved his first ever draw against Stuart and avoided loss in a Flood Cup game for the first time.
In case anyone think James and Stuart’s play was subject to time pressure, both players had more than one hour on the clock for the whole of the game.
Now for my question:
What is the correct result in this game? is it a draw as the players agreed or should it be a win to James under
Article 5: The completion of the game.
5.1
a) The game is won by the player who has checkmated his opponents king. This immediately ends the game, provided that the move producing the checkmating position was a legal move.
Is there any further rules to consider as well?