Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    CC Rookie

Box Hill Chess Club needs revamp

It seems the good arbiter Gerrit Hartland has some issues. At least that better be the case. I have been spat in the face, people, because an arbiter is too lazy.

I sent an e-mail explaining that I could not play on the recent Friday night - on the Thursday (due to unforseen circumstances). I have never done this before, and all I requested was a postponed game.

Lo and behold, I called Gerrit to see what was going on with my game, and he has no idea what I'm talking about. Now I cannot compete for 1st place honours (which was $500), and a forfeit makes my credibility worsen. I believe a full refund of tournament entry fee, at the very least, is in order. Let us hope that this sort of thing doesn't spread, people.

-Honour the Kin-

Reader in Slood Dynamics Rincewind's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DarkDevilKin
    I sent an e-mail explaining that I could not play on the recent Friday night - on the Thursday (due to unforseen circumstances). I have never done this before, and all I requested was a postponed game.
    Just one comment. E-mail is not the most reliable form of communication. If it meant that much to you a phone call to the DoP before time might have saved some grief.
    So einfach wie möglich, aber nicht einfacher - Albert Einstein

CC resident nutcase Trent Parker's Avatar
    Moved from chess Australia to Australian chess. This is not really a news item that is usually in the Chess Australia area...
    GO THE DRAGONS!
    GO Western Sydney Wanderers!
    Quote Originally Posted by Adamski's signature
    God exists. Short and to the point.
    This is the reason I do not wade into religion threads.

nobbled starting line up

Now I cannot compete for 1st place honours (which was $500), and a forfeit makes my credibility worsen. I believe a full refund of tournament entry fee, at the very least, is in order.
    i'm weeping ...