Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    CC Candidate Master
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    467

    Vega - Changing a result from a previous round

    We have a junior Allegro tournament with around 70 players. The results for Round 1 are entered, and Round 2 begins. Several of the Round 2 games finish quickly and the results are entered, while many of the games are still being played out.

    At this point, two players who met in Round 1 come up to the arbiter and advise that the result of their Round 1 game was entered incorrectly. The arbiter goes back to Round 1 in Round Manager and tries to change the result but gets the message "You cannot modify the result of a previous round. First insert the results of the current round"

    So it appears the arbiter first needs to enter all of the remaining Round 2 results, and then once it is permitted to change the Round 1 results, they must remember to go back and make the change before they pair Round 3. If they forget to make the change there and then, they have to wait until the end of Round 3.

    Is there a workaround in Vega that enables the arbiter to change an earlier result immediately?
    FA Andrew Hardegen
    Southern Suburbs Chess Club (Perth)
    www.southernsuburbschessclub.org.au

  2. #2
    Illuminati Bill Gletsos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    17,169
    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Hardegen View Post
    We have a junior Allegro tournament with around 70 players. The results for Round 1 are entered, and Round 2 begins. Several of the Round 2 games finish quickly and the results are entered, while many of the games are still being played out.

    At this point, two players who met in Round 1 come up to the arbiter and advise that the result of their Round 1 game was entered incorrectly. The arbiter goes back to Round 1 in Round Manager and tries to change the result but gets the message "You cannot modify the result of a previous round. First insert the results of the current round"

    So it appears the arbiter first needs to enter all of the remaining Round 2 results, and then once it is permitted to change the Round 1 results, they must remember to go back and make the change before they pair Round 3. If they forget to make the change there and then, they have to wait until the end of Round 3.

    Is there a workaround in Vega that enables the arbiter to change an earlier result immediately?
    Yes, mark all the remaining games in round 2 as "adj" then you can go back to round 1 and change the incorrect result.
    The Force can have a strong influence on the weak-minded.
    Mos Eisley spaceport The toolbox. You will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy.

  3. #3
    CC Candidate Master
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    467
    Excellent. Thanks, Bill.
    FA Andrew Hardegen
    Southern Suburbs Chess Club (Perth)
    www.southernsuburbschessclub.org.au

  4. #4
    CC Candidate Master
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    ITALY
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Hardegen View Post
    ...

    So it appears the arbiter first needs to enter all of the remaining Round 2 results, and then once it is permitted to change the Round 1 results, they must remember to go back and make the change before they pair Round 3. If they forget to make the change there and then, they have to wait until the end of Round 3.

    Is there a workaround in Vega that enables the arbiter to change an earlier result immediately?
    Hello,

    I have read it just now.
    Bill already gave you the correct solution.
    Regarding the "must remember" part I know how easily one can forget it. For this reason in "Extra/Set memo message" you can enter whatever you want and the program will prompt you that note before to do the pairing of a given round.

    Best regards
    Luigi

  5. #5
    CC Candidate Master
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    467
    Quote Originally Posted by forlano View Post
    Hello,

    I have read it just now.
    Bill already gave you the correct solution.
    Regarding the "must remember" part I know how easily one can forget it. For this reason in "Extra/Set memo message" you can enter whatever you want and the program will prompt you that note before to do the pairing of a given round.

    Best regards
    Luigi
    Hello Luigi. Thank you, I have just tried this function and it is useful. It can also be used in the case of late entries, to remind the arbiter to regenerate the pairing numbers prior to calculating the next round pairing.
    FA Andrew Hardegen
    Southern Suburbs Chess Club (Perth)
    www.southernsuburbschessclub.org.au

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31-01-2020, 04:52 PM
  2. Aribter Mistake Changing a Title Result?
    By Patrick Byrom in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-10-2019, 02:01 PM
  3. Changing pairings, big no/no
    By Garvinator in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15-07-2009, 08:51 PM
  4. What is the result?
    By WhiteElephant in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-07-2008, 01:24 AM
  5. changing my password
    By jcb in forum Help and Feedback
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-10-2003, 12:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •