Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 54
  1. #1
    CC Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    18,385

    So who should get a Point?

    In today's MCC allegro, we encountered an interesting situation:

    in the [Player B-Player A] game played in round 6. [Player A] lost on time (apparently in a very good position). Upon loud expressions of the great sorrow by [Player A] - [Player B] (who was apparently not happy with the way his tournament was going anyway) pointed out to [Player A] that its ok with him if [Player A] gets the point. After rd, 6 [Player B] withdraws from the tournament without reporting the result and leaves the buildings.

    [Player A] proceeds to enter the result as a win for him. However, there is a witness to this lovely ''event'' who was playing on the board next to them...the witness reports what happened to me....I change result as a win for [Player B]. [Player A] is not overly happy...At that point I went away..and after I got back...the organizers already changed result to a win for [Player A].

    So the question is: if a player loses on time, but other player tells him that he can have the point....what shall the organizers do? Who gets the point? My understanding is: loss on time is a loss. And on completion of the game, result can not be changed...
    Who should get the point?
    Last edited by Kevin Bonham; 11-04-2021 at 06:21 AM. Reason: remove player names
    Interested in Chess Lessons?
    Email webbaron!@gmail.com for more Info!

  2. #2
    Monster of the deep Kevin Bonham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    40,705
    Under FIDE laws once a player has lost on time that's generally game over, and their opponent cannot reverse the result by, in effect, resigning. In some competitions where the winner fails to report the result of the game it is recorded as a loss for them, but that's as 0-0, not a win for the opponent.

    However, assuming the incident is as described, the usual issue arises that the MCC may not be following the FIDE laws.
    Moderation Requests: All requests for, comments about, or questions about moderation of any kind including thread changes must be posted in the Help and Feedback section and not on the thread in question. (Or by private message for routine changes or sensitive matters.)

    ACF Newsletter Information - All Australian players and administrators should subscribe and check each issue for relevant notices

    My psephology/politics site (token chess references only) : http://kevinbonham.blogspot.com.au/ Politics twitter feed https://twitter.com/kevinbonham

  3. #3
    Illuminati Bill Gletsos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    17,166
    I agree with Kevin.

    BTW who was the tournament arbiter and who were the organisers who changed the result?
    The Force can have a strong influence on the weak-minded.
    Mos Eisley spaceport The toolbox. You will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy.

  4. #4
    CC Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    18,385
    Quote Originally Posted by Bill Gletsos View Post
    I agree with Kevin.

    BTW who was the tournament arbiter and who were the organisers who changed the result?
    We have 3 arbiters (including me) - never mind who changed the result. I will let him know so next time we won't have such discrepancies happening.
    Interested in Chess Lessons?
    Email webbaron!@gmail.com for more Info!

  5. #5
    CC Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7,853
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin Bonham View Post
    Under FIDE laws once a player has lost on time that's generally game over, and their opponent cannot reverse the result by, in effect, resigning. In some competitions where the winner fails to report the result of the game it is recorded as a loss for them, but that's as 0-0, not a win for the opponent.

    However, assuming the incident is as described, the usual issue arises that the MCC may not be following the FIDE laws.
    Doesn't a win on time have to be claimed by the opponent, or at least observed by an arbiter: "6.8 A flag is considered to have fallen when the arbiter observes the fact or when either player has made a valid claim to that effect."? If a player resigns without making a claim when he's entitled to, then presumably he loses.

    Although "0-0" doesn't seem an unreasonable result in the circumstances, especially as the law does seem to allow a player to claim his own flag fall

    There was a previous discussion of a similar incident here.

  6. #6
    CC Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    18,385
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Byrom View Post
    Doesn't a win on time have to be claimed by the opponent, or at least observed by an arbiter: "6.8 A flag is considered to have fallen when the arbiter observes the fact or when either player has made a valid claim to that effect."? If a player resigns without making a claim when he's entitled to, then presumably he loses.

    Although "0-0" doesn't seem an unreasonable result in the circumstances, especially as the law does seem to allow a player to claim his own flag fall

    There was a previous discussion of a similar incident here.
    There was no arbiter present next to the game at the time. Furthermore, other player already left the tournament hall by then. It only came to our attention because of the player who was playing next to them.
    Interested in Chess Lessons?
    Email webbaron!@gmail.com for more Info!

  7. #7
    Illuminati Bill Gletsos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    17,166
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Byrom View Post
    Doesn't a win on time have to be claimed by the opponent, or at least observed by an arbiter: "6.8 A flag is considered to have fallen when the arbiter observes the fact or when either player has made a valid claim to that effect."? If a player resigns without making a claim when he's entitled to, then presumably he loses.

    Although "0-0" doesn't seem an unreasonable result in the circumstances, especially as the law does seem to allow a player to claim his own flag fall

    There was a previous discussion of a similar incident here.
    It is clear from the above that [Player A] acknowledged he lost: “ Upon loud expressions of the great sorrow by [Player A]”
    As such he should not be reporting the result as a win for him.

    Even now the correct result should be recorded in Tornelo.
    Last edited by Kevin Bonham; 11-04-2021 at 06:22 AM. Reason: remove player names
    The Force can have a strong influence on the weak-minded.
    Mos Eisley spaceport The toolbox. You will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy.

  8. #8
    Illuminati Bill Gletsos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    17,166
    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelBaron View Post
    We have 3 arbiters (including me) - never mind who changed the result. I will let him know so next time we won't have such discrepancies happening.
    Let us all hope that whoever it was who changed the result is not a titled arbiter (NA, FA or IA).
    The Force can have a strong influence on the weak-minded.
    Mos Eisley spaceport The toolbox. You will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy.

  9. #9
    CC Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    18,385
    Quote Originally Posted by Bill Gletsos View Post
    It is clear from the above that [Player A] acknowledged he lost: “ Upon loud expressions of the great sorrow by [Player A]”
    As such he should not be reporting the result as a win for him.

    Even now the correct result should be recorded in Tornelo.
    He did acknowledge it...but when he saw an ''opportunity'' did not want to let it go I guess .
    Last edited by Kevin Bonham; 11-04-2021 at 11:51 AM. Reason: remove player names
    Interested in Chess Lessons?
    Email webbaron!@gmail.com for more Info!

  10. #10
    Monster of the deep Kevin Bonham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    40,705
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Byrom View Post
    Doesn't a win on time have to be claimed by the opponent, or at least observed by an arbiter: "6.8 A flag is considered to have fallen when the arbiter observes the fact or when either player has made a valid claim to that effect."? If a player resigns without making a claim when he's entitled to, then presumably he loses.

    Although "0-0" doesn't seem an unreasonable result in the circumstances, especially as the law does seem to allow a player to claim his own flag fall
    Yes I'm not sure if cursing a loss on time counts as claiming it. If no arbiter saw it it's a bit weird; the player might reasonably interpret 'you can have the point anyway' (or words to that effect) as a resignation but I don't think it is. The opponent seems to be agreeing that they won the game on time but trying to give the point away.
    Moderation Requests: All requests for, comments about, or questions about moderation of any kind including thread changes must be posted in the Help and Feedback section and not on the thread in question. (Or by private message for routine changes or sensitive matters.)

    ACF Newsletter Information - All Australian players and administrators should subscribe and check each issue for relevant notices

    My psephology/politics site (token chess references only) : http://kevinbonham.blogspot.com.au/ Politics twitter feed https://twitter.com/kevinbonham

  11. #11
    CC Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7,853
    Quote Originally Posted by Bill Gletsos View Post
    It is clear from the above that [Player A] acknowledged he lost: “ Upon loud expressions of the great sorrow by [Player A]”
    As reported by a third party, not witnessed by any arbiter:
    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelBaron View Post
    There was no arbiter present next to the game at the time. Furthermore, other player already left the tournament hall by then. It only came to our attention because of the player who was playing next to them.
    If [Player A] denies that he lost on time, is there any evidence apart from the single witness?

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill Gletsos View Post
    As such he should not be reporting the result as a win for him.
    If the report of his behaviour is correct, then I agree that he should have, at the very least, explained the situation to an arbiter and asked for a ruling.
    Last edited by Kevin Bonham; 11-04-2021 at 06:07 PM. Reason: remove player names

  12. #12
    CC Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    18,385
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Byrom View Post
    As reported by a third party, not witnessed by any arbiter:

    If [Player A] denies that he lost on time, is there any evidence apart from the single witness?

    If the report of his behaviour is correct, then I agree that he should have, at the very least, explained the situation to an arbiter and asked for a ruling.
    [Player A] did not deny that he ran out of time, he just claimed that his opponent agreed to a loss.
    Last edited by Kevin Bonham; 11-04-2021 at 06:22 AM. Reason: remove player names
    Interested in Chess Lessons?
    Email webbaron!@gmail.com for more Info!

  13. #13
    Monster of the deep Kevin Bonham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    40,705
    Names removed

    Out of an abundance of legal caution I have removed player names from this thread. Please do not use real names on this thread for players again. Anyone wishing to discuss this decision may do so in the Help and Feedback section only, and again must not use real names.
    Moderation Requests: All requests for, comments about, or questions about moderation of any kind including thread changes must be posted in the Help and Feedback section and not on the thread in question. (Or by private message for routine changes or sensitive matters.)

    ACF Newsletter Information - All Australian players and administrators should subscribe and check each issue for relevant notices

    My psephology/politics site (token chess references only) : http://kevinbonham.blogspot.com.au/ Politics twitter feed https://twitter.com/kevinbonham

  14. #14
    CC Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7,853
    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelBaron View Post
    [Player A] did not deny that he ran out of time, he just claimed that his opponent agreed to a loss.
    Did he clarify whether his opponent had claimed a win on time at any point?

  15. #15
    CC Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    18,385
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Byrom View Post
    Did he clarify whether his opponent had claimed a win on time at any point?
    No. He was eager to get that point. According to the witness, the opponent did claim time.
    Interested in Chess Lessons?
    Email webbaron!@gmail.com for more Info!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Half-point Byes
    By David Webster in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 10-04-2022, 05:54 PM
  2. The 400 point rating steal...
    By GTB333 in forum Ratings Arena
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-02-2021, 08:33 AM
  3. Half point BYE
    By forlano in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23-12-2010, 07:19 PM
  4. What is the point in having state associations like VCA?
    By MichaelBaron in forum Australian Chess
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 19-05-2006, 04:08 PM
  5. Drunkeness- What is the point?
    By Oepty in forum Non-Chess
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 29-03-2005, 07:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •