Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Monster of the deep Kevin Bonham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    40,828

    Firouzja loses on time to Carlsen with K+B+3P vs K+B

    From World Blitz championship. White flagged in this position despite the increment, a clear loss on time under current Laws because of helpmate possibilities.

    FEN Viewer


    The position appears to be dead drawn with best play if black is careful.
    Moderation Requests: All requests for, comments about, or questions about moderation of any kind including thread changes must be posted in the Help and Feedback section and not on the thread in question. (Or by private message for routine changes or sensitive matters.)

    ACF Newsletter Information - All Australian players and administrators should subscribe and check each issue for relevant notices

    My psephology/politics site (token chess references only) : http://kevinbonham.blogspot.com.au/ Politics twitter feed https://twitter.com/kevinbonham

  2. #2
    Monster of the deep Kevin Bonham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    40,828
    Tarjei J. Svensen @TarjeiJS
    1m
    Firouzja is making an appeal because he claims Carlsen was destructing [sic] him by saying something in Norwegian, according to the Chief Arbiter on NRK. Takis says the result stands because Firouzja accepted it. #rapidblitz
    Moderation Requests: All requests for, comments about, or questions about moderation of any kind including thread changes must be posted in the Help and Feedback section and not on the thread in question. (Or by private message for routine changes or sensitive matters.)

    ACF Newsletter Information - All Australian players and administrators should subscribe and check each issue for relevant notices

    My psephology/politics site (token chess references only) : http://kevinbonham.blogspot.com.au/ Politics twitter feed https://twitter.com/kevinbonham

  3. #3
    Monster of the deep Kevin Bonham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    40,828
    Tarjei J. Svensen @TarjeiJS
    1m
    NRK just replayed the video. The only "noise" Carlsen made was a low "damn" when he blundered before. There is nothing here. #rapidblitz
    Moderation Requests: All requests for, comments about, or questions about moderation of any kind including thread changes must be posted in the Help and Feedback section and not on the thread in question. (Or by private message for routine changes or sensitive matters.)

    ACF Newsletter Information - All Australian players and administrators should subscribe and check each issue for relevant notices

    My psephology/politics site (token chess references only) : http://kevinbonham.blogspot.com.au/ Politics twitter feed https://twitter.com/kevinbonham

  4. #4
    CC Candidate Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    46
    Unfortunately rules and rules.
    Although sometimes I do prefer the internet rules...

    On a side note, I cannot stand when people attempt to double-dip in appeals... You cannot say something distracted you, not claim or raise the issue immediately, lose the game and then decide to appeal the issue you failed to raise after the game. I get it might of been in frustration, but its really cements the fact your appeal is garbage.

  5. #5
    CC International Master Jesper Norgaard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,008
    Firouzja will perhaps learn something from this incident

    (1) learn the rules, so you can make a complaint about the opponent disturbing you ("damn") then you will most likely get a time compensation, which would have been very beneficial at the end. It would be typical to get a minute if Carlsen admits he inadvertently disturbed Firouzja by cursing. I'm sure he would have because he is always a great sportsman, and I'm also sure he did not do it to disturb Firouzja.
    (2) you can only avoid losing on time when your opponent has no material left, although a few exceptions exist like you have a lone queen, the opponent has a lone knight. Alireza was clearly stunned that Black can win this with a single bishop - probably because in online chess, if White exceeds the time limit, it is a draw. Learn the rules kid!
    (3) With the white king on h5 and the black bishop on f4, 1.g6 wins because of 1...Kf6 2.e7 Kxe7 3.g7 and promotes, or 1...Be5 2.Kh6 Kf8 3.e7+ Kxe7 4.g7 Bxg7+ 5.Kxg7. On the other hand Carlsen blundered with Bd2 and Bf4 when keeping it in the diagonal with Bc3 or Be5 would keep the draw. and only as response to Kg6 or Kh6 to play Bd2 or Bf4 and it is still a draw.
    (4) Don't use all your time trying to find the win, just Blitz out moves like Carlsen
    (5) Don't make useless appeals when you have clearly lost on time, and has not protested the disturbance during the game.

    Firouzja is only 16, and he will probably see this in a different light when the adrenaline rush has left his body. If not, he will only risk being called a sore loser.

    Anyone remembers Irina Krush' long-winded appeal in an Open letter after the Armageddon game against Anna Zatonskih?
    Chess well played is imagination, calculation, observation, experience and memorization in order of importance.

  6. #6
    CC Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    18,529
    not a draw, despite Magnus having no pawns to queen .
    Interested in Chess Lessons?
    Email webbaron!@gmail.com for more Info!

  7. #7
    CC Grandmaster Garrett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    the City
    Posts
    3,229
    carlsen ending.jpg

    White must be careful !!

  8. #8
    Monster of the deep Kevin Bonham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    40,828
    Chessbase report on this incident has the full video:

    https://en.chessbase.com/post/magnus...litz-champions

    At about 10:06 in the video white has three seconds on his clock as he starts his move, but accidentally knocks over his king, reinstates it, but has flagged by the time he presses the clock.
    Moderation Requests: All requests for, comments about, or questions about moderation of any kind including thread changes must be posted in the Help and Feedback section and not on the thread in question. (Or by private message for routine changes or sensitive matters.)

    ACF Newsletter Information - All Australian players and administrators should subscribe and check each issue for relevant notices

    My psephology/politics site (token chess references only) : http://kevinbonham.blogspot.com.au/ Politics twitter feed https://twitter.com/kevinbonham

  9. #9
    CC International Master Kerry Stead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    2,227
    The other bit to notice at the end of the game is that the players do not shake hands & 'agree' on a result ... rather the arbiter simply approaches the table & places the kings in the centre of the board to show that game is a win for black ... and the players seem shocked at this!

  10. #10
    CC Grandmaster Garvinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    13,408
    Kevin, I think you can add this situation to your list of different sports where top participants have been caught out for being ignorant of the rules.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Rybka loses
    By FM_Bill in forum Computer Chess
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-05-2013, 02:00 PM
  2. Carlsen named in TIME's 100 Most Influential People
    By Kevin Bonham in forum General Chess Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24-04-2013, 02:26 PM
  3. Carlsen - Highest Rated Chess Player of All time.
    By flipflop in forum Overseas Tournament News and Results
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-01-2013, 11:50 PM
  4. Magnus Carlsen v The World, September 10 (US time)
    By Kevin Bonham in forum Overseas Tournament News and Results
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-09-2010, 01:44 AM
  5. Kamsky loses in R4
    By News Bot in forum Chess Australia
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-12-2005, 08:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •