Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Illuminati Bill Gletsos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    16,543

    FIDE Interpretations of 2017 Laws Including Articles 7.5.1, 7.5.2, 7.7.1 and 7.8.1

    FIDE have posted the following on the FIDE Rules Commission website.

    Dear friends,

    On 14 of June 2017 an online Conference was organized by the FIDE Arbiters' Commission, in cooperation with the FIDE Rules Commission.

    In this Conference a number of very experienced International Arbiters, mainly members of the FIDE Arbiters' and Rules Commissions, were invited and participated.

    You can see the list of participants here.

    During the Conference interpretations and clarifications about the new Laws of Chess, valid from 1 July 2017, were discussed and agreed to be in effect.

    The agreed points are the following:

    1. By the new laws of Chess four (4) illegal moves are now in effect, according to the articles: 7.5.1, 7.5.2, 7.7.1 and 7.8.1.

    2. In Standard chess the player is forfeited in case he completes two (2) of ANY of the above illegal moves.

    3. However when there are two (2) illegal moves in one move (i.e. illegal castling made by two hands, illegal promotion made by two hands and illegal capturing made by two hands), they count as one (1) illegal move and the player shall not be forfeited at once (in Standard chess).

    4. The capturing of the King is illegal move and is penalized accordingly.

    5. In Rapid and Blitz games the Arbiter SHALL CALL the flag fall, if he observes it.

    6. In case that the indications are 0.00 in both clocks and electronic clocks are used, the Arbiter has always the possibility to establish which flag fell first, with the help of the "-" indication. Therefore there is always a winner.
    In case mechanical clocks are used then article III.3.1 of the Guidelines about games without increment including Quickplay Finishes shall be applied.

    7. In case a game with reversed colors will end by normal means (by checkmate, stalemate, resignation or draw agreement, if allowed), before ten (10) moves will be played, then the result stands.

    8. In case that a player presses the clock without making a move, as mentioned in the article 6.2.4, it is considered as an illegal move and it is penalized according to the article 7.5.3. and not according to the article 12.9

    9. If a player makes a move with one hand and presses the clock with the other, it is not considered as an illegal move and it is penalized according to the article 12.9.

    10. In Rapid and Blitz games, if the player asks from the Arbiter to see the score sheet, the clock should not be stopped.

    IA Takis Nikolopoulos
    Chairman
    FIDE Arbiters' Commission

    IA Ashot Vardapetyan
    Chairman
    FIDE Rules Commission
    The Force can have a strong influence on the weak-minded.

  2. #2
    CC Candidate Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    41
    I think that the point 6 of the interpretations of the New Laws of Chess is in contradiction with Appendix A. Rapid chess, A.4.3

    Point 6. In case that the indications are 0.00 in both clocks and electronic clocks are used, the Arbiter has always the possibility to establish which flag fell first, with the help of the "-" indication. Therefore there is always a winner.
    In case mechanical clocks are used then article III.3.1 of the Guidelines about games without increment including Quickplay Finishes shall be applied.”

    A.4.3 To claim a win on time, the claimant may stop the chessclock and notify the arbiter. For the claim to be successful, the claimant must have time remaining on his own clock after the chessclock has been stopped.

    In point 6 there is always a winner but in A.4.3 both flag fall cant´t claim a win on time.
    Last edited by DontAcceptDraw; 23-07-2017 at 05:48 AM.
    The only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about.

    FIDE Arbiter: Néstor Echeverría.

  3. #3
    CC Candidate Master
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    52
    As far as FIDE is concerned, everybody is playing rapid chess with a clock that freezes on both sides at the fall of the first flag.

    Quote Originally Posted by "Standards of Chess Equipment and tournament venue for FIDE Tournaments "
    In case of accumulative or delay timing systems, the clock should not add any additional time if a player passed the last time control.
    It does not say "do not add time to the player whose flag is down", it says "do not add any additional time, which means to both players". This is exactly what a DGT XL does. I have been told that the latest DGT 3000 does permit the double flag down if properly programmed but there is still thousands of DGT 2010, DGT North American and DGT XL which will always freeze on both sides when used with an increment. Event if a clock could be programed to allow a double flag down, this seems to be illegal.

    That makes A.4.3 moot because there will never be a double flag down situation with most FIDE endorsed clocks.

  4. #4
    CC Candidate Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by Pierre Dénommée View Post
    As far as FIDE is concerned, everybody is playing rapid chess with a clock that freezes on both sides at the fall of the first flag. .

    I do not understand why the interpretation of A.4.3 has changed when A.4.3 in 2014 and 2017 is the same. The Standards of Chess Equipment in 2014 and 2017 and the FIDE Rules Tournament in 2014 and 2017 about this point are the same too.

    According to the ARBITERS’ MANUAL 2016:
    If a player claims that his opponent overstepped the allotted time and he did not stop the clocks, and then his flag felt down before the arbiter fixed the result, the game shall be declared a draw
    The only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about.

    FIDE Arbiter: Néstor Echeverría.

  5. #5
    Monster of the deep Kevin Bonham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    37,376
    The purpose of the old rule seems to me to be that the player needs to be able to prove that the opponent's flag fell first. With an analog clock, and some digital clocks, the only way to prove this is by stopping the clocks to show one still has time remaining.

    Since many brands of digital clocks show whose flag fell first, there is no need for the player to stop the clock before his own flag falls, in order to prove the opponent's flag fell first.

    The idea behind the "interpretation" therefore makes sense to me, even if it doesn't match what the rules actually say.

  6. #6
    CC Candidate Master
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    52
    I know the arbiter's manual, the problem is that with most chess clocks, a double flag down is impossible because the clock freezes on both sides. So there will always be time left on the claimant's clock because it has stopped running at the moment of the flag fall. The 2016 arbiters' manual is off course correct for clocks that do allow the double flag down.

    Also, we still do not have the 2017 arbiters' manual.

  7. #7
    CC Candidate Master
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    52
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin Bonham View Post
    The purpose of the old rule seems to me to be that the player needs to be able to prove that the opponent's flag fell first.
    This will be always the case when new technologies make automated rules enforcement possible. The Rule Commission will have to decide whether or not the rules have to evolve. There will be many cases like that in the future. For example, an electronic scoresheet could easily detect illegal moves and report them through a wireless router to a special device in possession of the arbiter. The same scoresheet could automatically advise the player in case of a triple repetition or 50 moves had occurred, it could even advise a player that playing a certain move would produce a triple repetition. Actually, FIDE requirement that an electronic scoresheet be a dedicated device that cannot do anything else make such scoresheets too expensive to be popular. The small number of players who could afford it would be advantaged, so FIDE has rightly decided that no rule assistance is allowed from an electronic scoresheet. The USCF use the same rule. The day those electronic assistants will become more affordable AND widely used by players of all strength, FIDE may revise its position.

    In my opinion, there is nothing wrong with rules automation as long as it is provided equally to all players. The only one which I do not like in my list is advising a player that playing a certain move would produce a triple repetition.

  8. #8
    Illuminati Bill Gletsos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    16,543
    FIDE have tidied up the wording of the various "illegal moves" articles in the Laws of Chess.

    From the 1st January 2018 the section will be:
    7.5.1 An illegal move is completed once the player has pressed his clock. If during a game it is found that an illegal move has been completed, the position immediately before the irregularity shall be reinstated. If the position immediately before the irregularity cannot be determined, the game shall continue from the last identifiable position prior to the irregularity. Articles 4.3 and 4.7 apply to the move replacing the illegal move. The game shall then continue from this reinstated position.

    7.5.2 If the player has moved a pawn to the furthest distant rank, pressed the clock, but not replaced the pawn with a new piece, the move is illegal. The pawn shall be replaced by a queen of the same colour as the pawn.

    7.5.3 If the player presses the clock without making a move, it shall be considered and penalized as if an illegal move.

    7.5.4 If a player uses two hands to make a single move (for example in case of castling, capturing or promotion) and pressed the clock, it shall be considered and penalized as if an illegal move.

    7.5.5 After the action taken under Article 7.5.1, 7.5.2, 7.5.3 or 7.5.4 for the first completed illegal move by a player, the arbiter shall give two minutes extra time to his opponent; for the second completed illegal move by the same player the arbiter shall declare the game lost by this player. However, the game is drawn if the position is such that the opponent cannot checkmate the player’s king by any possible series of legal moves.

    7.6 If, during a game it is found that any piece has been displaced from its correct square, the position before the irregularity shall be reinstated. If the position immediately before the irregularity cannot be determined, the game shall continue from the last identifiable position prior to the irregularity. The game shall then continue from this reinstated position.
    Note the current Articles 7.7.1, 7.7.2, 7.8.1 and 7.8.2 have been removed.
    The Force can have a strong influence on the weak-minded.

  9. #9
    CC Candidate Master
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    73
    7.5.4 If a player uses two hands to make a single move (for example in case of castling, capturing or promotion) and pressed the clock, it shall be considered and penalized as if an illegal move.
    How can I undo such an illegal move before it is fixed by pressing the clock?

  10. #10
    Monster of the deep Kevin Bonham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    37,376
    Quote Originally Posted by Bulldozer View Post
    How can I undo such an illegal move before it is fixed by pressing the clock?
    Put all the pieces back where they were and then redo the move from scratch using a single hand. Any sensible arbiter would accept this, though the vagueness of this aspect of the laws provides plenty of ammunition for arbiters who are not sensible.

  11. #11
    CC Candidate Master
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by Bill Gletsos View Post
    FIDE have tidied up the wording of the various "illegal moves" articles in the Laws of Chess.

    From the 1st January 2018 the section will be: [...]

    Note the current Articles 7.7.1, 7.7.2, 7.8.1 and 7.8.2 have been removed.
    Did FIDE also change rapid and blitz rules?

    According to the approved report of the Rules Commission (http://www.fide.com/images/stories/N...s/Annex_78.pdf), there is a new article A.4.2.1 which says:

    If the arbiter observes an action taken under Article 7.5.1, 7.5.2, 7.5.3 or 7.5.4, he shall act according to Article 7.5.5, provided the opponent has not made his next move. If the arbiter does not intervene, the opponent is entitled to claim, provided the opponent has not made his next move. If the opponent does not claim and the arbiter does not intervene, the illegal move shall stand and the game shall continue. Once the opponent has made his next move, an illegal move cannot be corrected unless this is agreed by the players without intervention of the arbiter.
    Looking at rules.fide.com, it seems that the number of the article has been corrected in A.4.2, hence it replaces the current article A.4.2:

    If the arbiter observes an illegal move has been completed, he shall declare the game lost by the player, provided the opponent has not made his next move. If the arbiter does not intervene, the opponent is entitled to claim a win, provided the opponent has not made his next move. However, the game is drawn if the position is such that the opponent cannot checkmate the player’s king by any possible series of legal moves. If the opponent does not claim and the arbiter does not intervene, the illegal move shall stand and the game shall continue. Once the opponent has made his next move, an illegal move cannot be corrected unless this is agreed by the players without intervention of the arbiter.
    Last edited by losboba; 22-10-2017 at 10:07 AM.

  12. #12
    Monster of the deep Kevin Bonham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    37,376
    Yes, it seems that from 1 January 2018 only a second illegal move will lose, and this will apply to all time controls. There is some confusion because of the retention of "claim a win" in one of the cases above but I have seen confirmation from a Rules member that this is what is intended.
    Last edited by Kevin Bonham; 22-10-2017 at 01:08 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. FIDE Laws of Chess 2017
    By Kevin Bonham in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 04-07-2017, 04:17 AM
  2. Laws of Chess draft changes 2017
    By Kevin Bonham in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-03-2017, 03:01 PM
  3. FIDE Ratings regulations changes (sf Laws changes)
    By DontAcceptDraw in forum Ratings Arena
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-09-2014, 05:16 PM
  4. Replies: 391
    Last Post: 28-01-2011, 04:12 PM
  5. 2005 FIDE Laws of Chess on FIDE website finally correct
    By Bill Gletsos in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-07-2007, 05:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •