Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
Results 76 to 82 of 82

Thread: Vega

  1. #76
    Illuminati Bill Gletsos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    17,284
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott Colliver View Post
    My understanding is Vega only needs Java to use JavaFo to do the pairings and if you don't use JavaFo then you don't need to install Java. This seems to suggest that Vega would start up even if the version of Java was outdated, because it can start up without any Java installed, so I have doubts that this is the problem
    Correct.
    Vega doesn’t need Java.
    JaVaFo needs Java and it doesn’t need it until you actually do the pairings.

    The problem is most likely with Windows and not Vega.
    The Force can have a strong influence on the weak-minded.
    Mos Eisley spaceport The toolbox. You will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy.

  2. #77
    Illuminati Bill Gletsos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    17,284
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Byrom View Post
    It would be worth checking, but from what you've already posted, I'm sure it's 64-bit.
    I want to know exactly what version number and build of Win 10 in on that desktop.

    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Byrom View Post
    Vega uses Java to do the pairings. I understand that computer has not being connected to the internet for a while, so its version of Java would be outdated (probably by several versions). That may be the issue.
    That shouldn’t cause the error code he is getting.
    Given it is probably an early build of Win 10 it could well be an issue with Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable Packages.

    He needs to update Win10 to the latest version/build.
    The Force can have a strong influence on the weak-minded.
    Mos Eisley spaceport The toolbox. You will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy.

  3. #78
    CC International Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,830
    I have made a special trip into the chess centre to find out the details of the Windows 10 on the desktop.

    Edition: Windows 10 Home
    Version 1803
    Installed on: 12-Sep-18
    OS Build 17134.590

    It also says that it is a 64 bit operating system, x64 based processor

    Looking at Windows update that says it last checked for updates 13 February 19

  4. #79
    CC Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    8,043
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott Colliver View Post
    I have made a special trip into the chess centre to find out the details of the Windows 10 on the desktop. ...
    I have a discarded computer of a similar vintage, so I tried installing Vega 8 on that. I had the same outcome as you did (Vega Teams was okay but not Vega 8). However I got a more informative error message: "vcruntime140.dll was not found". This confirms Bill's theory, as one of the suggested solutions is: "Install Visual C++ Redistributable For Visual Studio 2015."

    I agree with Bill that the best solution is to update your version of Windows. However, this could be a lengthy process! It might be simpler to use the older version of Vega already on the computer.

  5. #80
    CC International Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,830
    Using the older version might be an option if I had not uninstalled it.

  6. #81
    CC International Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,830
    IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I downloaded and installed the latest Visual C++ Redistributable and now Vega works. Orion also works.

    YIPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE EEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thank you Bill and Patrick for your help.

    I am so pleased it is fixed.

  7. #82
    CC Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    8,043
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott Colliver View Post
    IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I downloaded and installed the latest Visual C++ Redistributable and now Vega works. Orion also works.

    YIPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE EEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    That's great! I was worried there might be more issues (apart from Visual C++), but obviously not.

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott Colliver View Post
    Thank you Bill and Patrick for your help. I am so pleased it is fixed.
    Happy to help. But if you had got the same informative error message I did, you would already have solved it easily.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 3 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 3 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Vega vs SP pairing
    By David Webster in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-07-2015, 09:22 AM
  2. Vega Approved by ACF
    By Kevin Bonham in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-01-2013, 10:56 PM
  3. Vega Chess New Zealand edition
    By Keong Ang in forum New Zealand Chess
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 14-10-2012, 08:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •