Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Monster of the deep Kevin Bonham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    37,825

    Anyone having issues using Firefox?

    I'm having some problems using Firefox here. A message that a security token is missing comes up if I attempt to shout, reply to a post or edit a post. However it did not come up when I started a new thread.

    Is anyone else having problems using Firefox here? I am not getting the same problems so far using Chrome.
    Last edited by Kevin Bonham; 18-01-2015 at 09:48 PM.

  2. #2
    Reader in Slood Dynamics Rincewind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The multiverse
    Posts
    21,570
    No problem here. Firefox 35.0 on Windows 7 64-bit.
    So einfach wie möglich, aber nicht einfacher - Albert Einstein

  3. #3
    CC Grandmaster Adamski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Penrith, NSW
    Posts
    8,698
    Exactly the same Firefox as Barry and still working fine.
    God exists. Short and to the point.

    Secretary of, and regularly arbiter at, Rooty Hill RSL Chess Club. See www.rootyhillchessclub.org.

    Psephological insight. "Controversial will only lose you votes. Courageous will lose you the election." Sir Humphrey Appleby on Yes Minister.

    Favorite movie line: Girl friend Cathy to Jack Ryan in "Sum of all Fears". "What kind of emergency does an historian have?".

  4. #4
    Monster of the deep Kevin Bonham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    37,825
    Quote Originally Posted by Rincewind View Post
    No problem here. Firefox 35.0 on Windows 7 64-bit.
    Yes mine is exactly the same but even after restarting computer (which I do as rarely as possible) the issue persists. Sounds like it might be just me, as is also the case with the bug that prevents me from editing shouts.

  5. #5
    CC International Master
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Wynyard,Tas
    Posts
    2,210
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin Bonham View Post
    Yes mine is exactly the same but even after restarting computer (which I do as rarely as possible) the issue persists. Sounds like it might be just me, as is also the case with the bug that prevents me from editing shouts.
    Firefox is also not working here (for any site) on Windows 7 so maybe it's a Tasmania thing. On the other hand it seems fine on Windows 8.

  6. #6
    Monster of the deep Kevin Bonham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    37,825
    I'm actually having minor issues with Firefox on a range of sites now. For instance when sending tweets via Tweetdeck something often comes up about missing parameters.

  7. #7
    CC International Master Agent Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,466
    Try disabling any extensions and see how you go.

    But Firefox is really suffering from... whatever... too much money and a big headed CEO maybe.
    Some of their design decisions is just bollocks nowadays.

  8. #8
    CC International Master Agent Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,466
    Geez - Firefox 40 was am absolute crawler on my Linux box. I tried to fix it, but nothing...
    Menus, typing, tabs opening were all painfull on my Core 2 Quad.

    I downgraded to 35 and it's going great again. I might have to do the same on my OS X laptops

  9. #9
    Reader in Slood Dynamics Rincewind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The multiverse
    Posts
    21,570
    I have firefox 40.0.3 running on an old Core 2 Duo 2x2GHz system with Ubuntu 14.04 OS, without too many perceivable problems. But I don't run many add ons.
    So einfach wie möglich, aber nicht einfacher - Albert Einstein

  10. #10
    CC International Master Agent Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,466
    Hmmm - something was definitely wrong on my old fedora 15 amd64 / nvidia box.
    I had tried disabling add-ons.

    The new 'options' window is kind-of useless too imho.

  11. #11
    Monster of the deep Kevin Bonham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    37,825
    I just about completely switched to Chrome for the whole net as Firefox issues were proving too much hassle to try to solve.

  12. #12
    CC International Master Agent Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,466
    On OS X, Firefox 38 was also a dog (not as bad as 40 on linux). I'd been puttingup with it for ages ! but just now i installed 40 on OS X, and it's a dream. I think they're doing funky things with hardware acceleration (even though i'd disabled it on linux).

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. FireFox 0.9
    By skip to my lou in forum The 1337 Lounge
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: 10-12-2009, 08:28 PM
  2. Turbo Tune-up for Firefox
    By Ian Murray in forum The 1337 Lounge
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-11-2009, 09:52 AM
  3. Firefox
    By owen watkin in forum The 1337 Lounge
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 10-12-2008, 12:46 PM
  4. Firefox Killer?
    By arosar in forum The 1337 Lounge
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-09-2008, 02:22 PM
  5. Using Firefox
    By EGOR in forum Help and Feedback
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-01-2006, 09:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •