Thread: GNU/Linux

CC International Master

GNU/Linux

General discussion for GNU/Linux users. Personally, I use the OS for practical reasons. My laptop (Specs):

Processor: Dual-Core Intel® Pentium® B960 2.20GHz
    Memory: 6GB DDR3
    Hard Drive: 80GB SSD

Got landed for $840, which is a lot better than I could find in Win. Mac. Since being a student I suppose the monetary factor was the biggest however using it has allowed me to pick up some new skills. Latex seems to be the most convenient word processor I've used. Doing screen plays and poems in proper format is really just a click away. Also if you are a mathematician you may be interested as it visually represents fractals etc. The other convenient thing is if I have problems I just run a virtual windows box ( All I use it for is Ct-art).

So yes, discuss OS's and whatever handy programmes are available. If you are interested Puppy is an entertaining, though unstable, OS which runs straight off your RAM.
    And still, no one has satisfactorily proven, that it isn't opposite day.

Account Suspended

I'm using Ubuntu Linux

Hi Saragossa,
    I have several desktop computers and laptops all of which have come from the street or freecycle.I use Linux on all of them and mostly Ubuntu.My best desktop machine is a dual core pentium 3GHZ with 1-2GB of ram,300GB harddrive.
    My best Laptop is an Evo 1.5Ghz CPU with 720Mb ram or so.These are perfectly adequate for my business and for my personal use.I used to do a fair bit of programming in Python and Perl as well as web development a few years back when I was trying to get work in that area again.Now I mainly just use the Chrome web browser for work and personal use.