CC International Master Brian_Jones's Avatar

Very interesting, thanks Brian

It would be great to go myself on another occasion. The School of Education at Uni Tas (where I work as a lecturer) has links with Vanuatu - and we regularly send students there for practicum - so maybe they could be next on the list?!

CC FIDE Master
    When Gary Bekker visited my shop recently in the Sydney CBD he mentioned the forthcoming event in Honiara. I told Gary that I had received communication from Solomon Islands about 25 years ago as they were holding the first international tournament in Honiara.

Max Fuller, an avid reader of my SMH column for nearly four decades found my column of 18 July 1983 which states as follows.

Leading players for Solomons tournament by Peter Parr Chess Correspondent.
    Max Fuller eight times Olympic representative will be participating in the first international tournament in Honiara, Solomon Islands, beginning on July 29.
    Solomon Islands Airlines has donated tickets to Honiara to guarantee the success of the event. Leading players from the South Pacific including Dr Ada of Fiji and Joe Rush of Papua New Guinea are among the entrants.- the recent event is over 26 years later than the first International in Honiara. Fuller scored 100% in a field of about 25. BTW the last time I was in Honiara was early 1973 when I was employed by P & O Shipping Lines as an entertainer. I cruised the South Pacific to Tahiti and islands in between.

Great, but

Quote Originally Posted by Tony Dowden
    Very interesting, thanks Brian

It would be great to go myself on another occasion. The School of Education at Uni Tas (where I work as a lecturer) has links with Vanuatu - and we regularly send students there for practicum - so maybe they could be next on the list?!
    A great idea, Tony, but note that the Solomon Islands and Vanuatu (formerly New Hebrides) are 2 different countries!