Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Was I correct?

  1. #1
    CC FIDE Master Phil Bourke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Blayney
    Posts
    780

    Was I correct?

    In the last round of our Interclub matches, there occurred a situation where a clock was malfunctioning. I was involved in another game at the moment and though aware that there was something wrong, didn't stop my own game to check as the players were playing on.

    After the game, the losing player raised an objection on the basis that he was in position of being time up and in a better position then when the clock malfunctioned, he played badly and lost.

    It was brought to my attention for a ruling, my opinion was that the position was irrelevant, his opponent could well think that he was winning too, that the correct procedure would to have been to stop the game when the clock was noticed to be malfunctioning and have it replaced. That by process of discussion the amount of time remaining to each player could have been assessed and then continue the game. Seeing that the players had elected to play on with a faulty clock, the result should stand. Note that during the discussion, the winner never offered a draw as a compromise, so I took this to be a silent disagreement with the evidence offered by the loser. After conferring with the captain of the other team not involved in the game concerned, we issued that as a decision.

    Was it a correct decision?
    Get into chess, its a lifetime of enjoyment!
    Blayney Chess Club is online
    http://blayneychessclub.com

  2. #2
    CC Grandmaster Garvinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    13,308
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Bourke
    In the last round of our Interclub matches, there occurred a situation where a clock was malfunctioning. I was involved in another game at the moment and though aware that there was something wrong, didn't stop my own game to check as the players were playing on.

    After the game, the losing player raised an objection on the basis that he was in position of being time up and in a better position then when the clock malfunctioned, he played badly and lost.

    It was brought to my attention for a ruling, my opinion was that the position was irrelevant, his opponent could well think that he was winning too, that the correct procedure would to have been to stop the game when the clock was noticed to be malfunctioning and have it replaced. That by process of discussion the amount of time remaining to each player could have been assessed and then continue the game. Seeing that the players had elected to play on with a faulty clock, the result should stand. Note that during the discussion, the winner never offered a draw as a compromise, so I took this to be a silent disagreement with the evidence offered by the loser. After conferring with the captain of the other team not involved in the game concerned, we issued that as a decision.

    Was it a correct decision?
    Yes.

  3. #3
    Monster of the deep Kevin Bonham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    40,353
    Absolutely. Players must stop the clock and complain about this sort of thing during the game.
    Moderation Requests: All requests for, comments about, or questions about moderation of any kind including thread changes must be posted in the Help and Feedback section and not on the thread in question. (Or by private message for routine changes or sensitive matters.)

    ACF Newsletter Information - All Australian players and administrators should subscribe and check each issue for relevant notices

    My psephology/politics site (token chess references only) : http://kevinbonham.blogspot.com.au/ Politics twitter feed https://twitter.com/kevinbonham

  4. #4
    Account Shoutbox Banned antichrist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    20,896
    I was in a comp few years back when the boards were too closes together and the next board kept pressing my clock. I claimed to Bill that the distraction etc broke my concentration but did not cut ice with Big Bad Bill.

    Has this happened to anyone else?

  5. #5
    CC International Master Jesper Norgaard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,008
    Quote Originally Posted by antichrist
    I was in a comp few years back when the boards were too closes together and the next board kept pressing my clock. I claimed to Bill that the distraction etc broke my concentration but did not cut ice with Big Bad Bill.

    Has this happened to anyone else?
    As a matter of fact it happened to me three(!) times in the same rapid game, that I mixed up which clock to press (the same clock each time), and though I realized in the moment my mistake, and could correct the clock presses in the same instant (no time increment involved) it was just soooooo embarassing I am sure Herrn Alzheimer is to blame ...

  6. #6
    CC Grandmaster Garvinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    13,308
    Quote Originally Posted by Jesper Norgaard
    As a matter of fact it happened to me three(!) times in the same rapid game, that I mixed up which clock to press (the same clock each time), and though I realized in the moment my mistake, and could correct the clock presses in the same instant (no time increment involved) it was just soooooo embarassing I am sure Herrn Alzheimer is to blame ...
    Jesper Alzheimer more like it

  7. #7
    Account Shoutbox Banned antichrist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    20,896
    Quote Originally Posted by Jesper Norgaard
    As a matter of fact it happened to me three(!) times in the same rapid game, that I mixed up which clock to press (the same clock each time), and though I realized in the moment my mistake, and could correct the clock presses in the same instant (no time increment involved) it was just soooooo embarassing I am sure Herrn Alzheimer is to blame ...
    Are you sure that your location is not Mexico but Sydney Australia, but I still managed to draw with my 2000- rated opponent so cant really complain as a good result for me.

  8. #8
    CC International Master Jesper Norgaard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,008
    Quote Originally Posted by antichrist
    Are you sure that your location is not Mexico but Sydney Australia, but I still managed to draw with my 2000- rated opponent so cant really complain as a good result for me.
    I know it is a bit of an unusual combination of a Dane living in Mexico chatting on an Australian Chess Chat server, but no I have never been "down under" (my father did recently). Maybe I have a soul mate in Sydney hitting the wrong clocks too

    Perhaps your 2000+ opponent got even more distraught than you with the clock-hitting, but congrats with the result.

  9. #9
    Account Shoutbox Banned antichrist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    20,896
    Quote Originally Posted by Jesper Norgaard
    I know it is a bit of an unusual combination of a Dane living in Mexico chatting on an Australian Chess Chat server, but no I have never been "down under" (my father did recently). Maybe I have a soul mate in Sydney hitting the wrong clocks too

    Perhaps your 2000+ opponent got even more distraught than you with the clock-hitting, but congrats with the result.
    Yes, it only occured to me yesterday that maybe it affected him more than me, maybe it was my jumping up and down about it that helped distract him too.

  10. #10
    CC Grandmaster ER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Melbourne - Australia
    Posts
    13,609
    Quote Originally Posted by antichrist
    Yes, it only occured to me yesterday that maybe it affected him more than me, maybe it was my jumping up and down about it that helped distract him too.
    lol i don't think so, he wouldn't expect any better from an "arangatang"
    https://www.nswca.org.au/index.php
    ACF 3118316
    FIDE 3201457

    From this day (13-11-20) onwards, I will only be posting, shouting and reading none other than chess related posts.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 398
    Last Post: 06-09-2014, 03:42 PM
  2. What is the correct pairing?
    By NeilH in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 125
    Last Post: 09-04-2011, 02:16 PM
  3. Is this study of Troitky correct ?
    By Tantale in forum General Chess Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 20-10-2008, 10:24 PM
  4. 2005 FIDE Laws of Chess on FIDE website finally correct
    By Bill Gletsos in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-07-2007, 05:57 PM
  5. Is this claim correct?
    By firegoat7 in forum Australian Chess
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 11-03-2004, 01:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •