View Poll Results: Should players remain allowed to move before recording their opponent's last move?

Voters
25. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    17 68.00%
  • No

    7 28.00%
  • Unsure

    1 4.00%
  • Any other response

    0 0%
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Monster of the deep Kevin Bonham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    38,921

    Moving before recording opponent's move

    I saw some commentary by firegoat7 in the Toolbox today that criticises the way that you are allowed to move before you have written down your opponent's move and suggests that this was previously not allowed, and suggests that:

    The introduction of digital clocks with incremental time controls allowed this rule change to slip under the radar.
    As far as I can establish this change actually came in in the 1997 Laws in which the following from the 1993 version:

    Quote Originally Posted by 1993 Laws
    11.1 In the course of play, each player is required to record the game (his own moves and those of his opponent), move after move, as clearly and legibly as possible in the Algebraic Notation, on the scoresheet prescribed for the competition. It is irrelevant whether the player first makes his move and then records it, or vice versa.
    [The use of Descriptive Notation or foreign versions of Algebraic Notation is tolerated in internal tournaments, e.g. weekend congresses.]
    became:

    Quote Originally Posted by 1997 Laws
    8.1. In the course of play each player is required to record his own moves and those of his opponent, move after move, as clearly and legibly as possible, in the algebraic notation (Appendix E), on the scoresheet prescribed for the competition.

    A player may reply to his opponent's move before recording it, if he so wishes. He must record his previous move before making another. The offer of a draw must be recorded on the scoresheet by both players.(Appendix E.12) If a player due to physical or religious reasons, is unable to keep score, an amount of time, decided by the arbiter, shall be deducted from his allotted time at the beginning of the game.
    Now, it is true that this change came in in the same version of the Laws in which increments came in, but I am not sure whether those changes actually have anything to do with each other. Anyway I have noted the above for interest and also added a poll to see what people here think of the issue.
    Last edited by Kevin Bonham; 30-05-2009 at 01:57 AM.
    Moderation Requests: All requests for, comments about, or questions about moderation of any kind including thread changes must be posted in the Help and Feedback section and not on the thread in question. (Or by private message for routine changes or sensitive matters.)

    ACF Newsletter Information - All Australian players and administrators should subscribe and check each issue for relevant notices

    My psephology/politics site (token chess references only) : http://kevinbonham.blogspot.com.au/ Politics twitter feed https://twitter.com/kevinbonham

  2. #2
    CC Grandmaster Denis_Jessop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    3,333
    As far as I know the introduction of incremental time controls had nothing to do with it. There seems to be no logical connection between the two which may be why FG7 made the connection.

    DJ
    ...I don't want to go among mad people Alice remarked, "Oh, you can't help that," said the Cat: we're all mad here. I am mad. You're mad." "How do you know I'm mad?" said Alice. "You must be," said the Cat ,"or you wouldn't have come here."

  3. #3
    Illuminati Bill Gletsos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    16,712
    Back prior to 1985 the FIDE Rules Commission used to published FIDE Interpretations as part of the Laws of Chess.

    The Article in the Laws prior to 1985 was Article 13.1

    Quote Originally Posted by Laws prior to 1985
    13.1 In the course of play each player is required to record the game (his own moves and those of his opponent), move after move, as clearly and legibly as possible, on the scoresheet prescribed for the competition.
    In FIDE Interpretation to Article 13.1 of 1970 in response to the question:

    A player, referring to the Laws of Chess, asked his opponent to make his move first and only then write it down on his scoresheet. It is thought not to be correct to write down the move first and only then to make the move on the board. The arbiter of the tournament in question judged the case to be insignificant.

    The answer was:

    The Commission is of the opinion that every player who has the move has the choice.

    In FIDE Interpretation to Article 13.1 of 1973 in response to the question:

    Is it a breach of Article 13.1 of the Lws of Chess if the moves are not recorded separately, but in pairs (White and Black together), if the player concerned is not in time trouble?

    The answer was:

    Technically speaking, this is indeed a breach of Article 13.1. However, the arbiter should intervene only when the arrears in scorekeeping are more than one move for White and one move for Black.
    The Force can have a strong influence on the weak-minded.
    Mos Eisley spaceport The toolbox. You will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy.

  4. #4
    CC Grandmaster Denis_Jessop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    3,333
    I note that the Tool has added his own special brand of wisdom to the thread over there by claiming that the present rule forces players to make their move before writing down their opponent's. With experts like this who needs arbiters

    DJ
    ...I don't want to go among mad people Alice remarked, "Oh, you can't help that," said the Cat: we're all mad here. I am mad. You're mad." "How do you know I'm mad?" said Alice. "You must be," said the Cat ,"or you wouldn't have come here."

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. What constitutes an illegal move in blitz?
    By Bereaved in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 10:43 PM
  2. Melbourne Chess Club Championships 2008
    By Bereaved in forum Completed Tournaments
    Replies: 80
    Last Post: 27-04-2008, 06:29 PM
  3. Recording the move before moving
    By Desmond in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 04-05-2007, 01:12 PM
  4. Dandenong Chess Club Calendar 2007
    By Bereaved in forum Completed Tournaments
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30-01-2007, 02:23 PM
  5. New Laws of Chess as of 1st July 2005
    By Bill Gletsos in forum Arbiters' Corner
    Replies: 129
    Last Post: 02-11-2005, 09:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •