Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    CC Candidate Master

Colours for late entry

Hello,

I am an Italian arbiter and programmer (Vega's author). With a friend of mine (another arbiter) we are developing a pairing engine that implement the FIDE Dutch-Swiss. Currently we are performing several test of the program and comparing the results against those given by the certificated Swiss Master 5.5 (SM).
    We obtained so far several discrepancies and we need to discuss them with expert arbiters to decide how to tune the program.
    Googling internet I found only this site (in the past there was the FIDE forum now turned off) where many arbiters discuss the same problems at which we are interested too. So I hope to receive feedback from you. Moreover I hope that my questions may be of some interest for this forum.

My first post regards the color assignment between two players (in brackets the color hystori):

case 1)

A [WB]
    B [--]

Player B entered the tournament after two forfeits so he has no color in the previous two games.
    SM performar the pair

B - A

giving the white to player B and two consecutive black to player A. Is it correct? We would prefer

A - B

giving the alternation to A being the color preference of B practically 0.

case 2)

A [BWWBWB]
    B [--WBWB]

it is related to the previous one. Who gets the white?

Thank you very much in advance for your answers.
    Luigi Forlano
    Last edited by forlano; 17-05-2009 at 05:53 AM.

CC Grandmaster
    In case 1 the pairing should be A-B as you suggest.

In case 2 the pairing should be B-A

Scott

Edit: The answers above assume A is the higher ranked player.
    Last edited by Oepty; 17-05-2009 at 12:09 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Scott Colliver
    In case 1 the pairing should be A-B as you suggest.

In case 2 the pairing should be B-A

Scott
    Under what specific dutch pairing rules do you base your decisions on.
    The Force can have a strong influence on the weak-minded.