Originally Posted by
JTee
Just to clarify something that happened during a match tonight, a player had stop recording their moves with the 30 second increment.
I had instructed the player to update the scoresheet as soon as it was his move, but was told by a player from the same team that this was 'unfair' to the player with the updated scoresheet.
From FIDE Rule 8.5:
If only one player has not kept score under Article 8.4, he must, as soon as either flag has fallen, update his scoresheet completely before moving a piece on the chessboard. Provided it is that player’s move, he may use his opponent’s scoresheet, but must return it before making a move.
Just to prove I'm not talking out my ass :P