Vincent Suttor
Andrew Bird
FM Vlad Smirnov
FM Brett Tindall
IM Tibor Karolyi
FM Greg Canfell
FM Max Fuller
Jason Hu

Are there any other 2100+ players interested in taking part?

Brett Tindall (organiser)

Garvinator
13-05-2008, 01:44 PM
No Max Illingworth??

Igor_Goldenberg
13-05-2008, 02:53 PM
Good fields, looks like a very strong tournament.

Is Tibor Karolyi eligible for the title?
I'd say Greg Canfell and Tomek Rej are the main contenders for the title, but it could be anyone.

Desmond
15-05-2008, 02:29 PM
Did you have any resistance organising the state title event on a weekly basis? I would have thought that that would disadvantage any regional players.

Brian_Jones
15-05-2008, 03:04 PM
Did you have any resistance organising the state title event on a weekly basis? I would have thought that that would disadvantage any regional players.

Yes Boris, I have been making this very point for many years now but the NSW Council just ignore me. This year they have put it in the too hard box and handed the event over to Brett (Tindall) to run at Sydney Academy of Chess in Strathfield.

If you live in Newcastle, Central Coast, Wollongong, Western Sydney and Blue Mountains, Wagga, Orange, Dubbo, Blayney, Tamworth, Armidale, Coffs Harbour, North Coast etc. you can forget about winning the NSW State Championship!

pax
15-05-2008, 04:36 PM
If you live in Newcastle, Central Coast, Wollongong, Western Sydney and Blue Mountains, Wagga, Orange, Dubbo, Blayney, Tamworth, Armidale, Coffs Harbour, North Coast etc. you can forget about winning the NSW State Championship!

I have a good friend who commuted from Orange to the University of Sydney on a weekly basis for years in order to conduct a Uni choir (for a very modest payment). It is not impossible for a player from many of the listed regions to compete in Sydney on nine occasions. Has anybody canvassed the top players and asked them what format they prefer?

Bill Gletsos
15-05-2008, 04:43 PM