PDA

View Full Version : The Final Resignation

Intuition
25-10-2007, 09:31 PM
Is it common for chess players to want to quit chess but find it impossible???? Since i started playing 3 years ago I've tryed to quit a few times and focus on other things but find it too hard to go more than a few weeks without wanting to play a game. Its almost as if the game re-wires your head like a drug?? :wall:

eclectic
25-10-2007, 11:45 PM
to parody mark twain:

giving up chess is easy; i've done it many a time

:P

Aaron Guthrie
26-10-2007, 02:07 AM
The poll is somewhat ambiguous, in that people who have never tried to quit chess will be voting no. I presume that this might not be what was intended.

Aside from quitting chess altogether, I hear quitting fast chess can be a problem. At the moment I can only remember doing so successfully, but that may be selective memory.

Spiny Norman
26-10-2007, 07:09 AM
There's no timeframe for what "quitting" means. I quit successfully for about 15-20 years. But I started playing again when my son got interested. I don't think that qualifies me as a failed quitter.

Aaron Guthrie
26-10-2007, 07:31 AM
There's no timeframe for what "quitting" means.But presumably when one quits one has some sort of timeframe in mind.
I quit successfully for about 15-20 years. But I started playing again when my son got interested. I don't think that qualifies me as a failed quitter.If you intended to quit forever and a day then this would qualify as a failed quit attempt, wouldn't it?

Spiny Norman
26-10-2007, 11:50 AM