PDA

View Full Version : New Player - Sydney Area - Need Advice!!!

Ausknight
24-07-2007, 08:28 PM
Hello everyone.

My name is Daniel, I'm a 33 year old living in Sydney. I used to play chess when I was a youngin' but gave it away as I entered my teens. Only recently I've been looking to come back and play again and need a little advice on how to get started.

1 - I am looking for a local club in Sydney, preferrably in the Strathfield area to play.

2 - I'd like to pick up a good book or two to get me started. Whilst I know the fundamentals of the game, I really feel like I'm starting all over so assume I'm a novice and recommend me a good book or two to get stuck into first.

3 - I'd like to also pick up a decent chess set for play here at home and / or at a local club. I'd be looking to spend around $100 for board and pieces - recommendations would be really appreciated!

4 - I'd also like to get some practise online. Recommendations on good free software for the PC would be excellent.

I would like to start playing socially, but then move to tournament level play a little later on. Advice on what steps I should take would be really appreciated.

Cheers

DanielBell
24-07-2007, 09:22 PM
Hello everyone.

My name is Daniel, I'm a 33 year old living in Sydney. I used to play chess when I was a youngin' but gave it away as I entered my teens. Only recently I've been looking to come back and play again and need a little advice on how to get started.

1 - I am looking for a local club in Sydney, preferrably in the Strathfield area to play.

2 - I'd like to pick up a good book or two to get me started. Whilst I know the fundamentals of the game, I really feel like I'm starting all over so assume I'm a novice and recommend me a good book or two to get stuck into first.

3 - I'd like to also pick up a decent chess set for play here at home and / or at a local club. I'd be looking to spend around $100 for board and pieces - recommendations would be really appreciated!