PDA

View Full Version : Watchable game?

Rincewind
19-04-2006, 09:12 AM
I don't play too many games I feel like posting here. However this one I found enjoyable and I think it is a "watchable" game. Given my modest rating it won't bear close scrutiny but it was fun never the less. Incidentally, I believe this is my first try at the Polugaevsky variation in a standard game...

1. e4 c5
2. Nf3 d6
3. d4 cxd4
4. Nxd4 Nf6
5. Nc3 a6
6. Bg5 e6
7. f4 b5
8. Qf3 Bb7
9. o-o-o Be7
10. Bd3 o-o
11. Qe2 b4
12. e5 bxc3
13. exf6 cxb2+
14. Kb1 Bxf6
15. Nxe6 fxe6
16. Qxe6+ Kh8
17. Qh3 g6
18. Bxg6 Qc7
19. Rxd6 Bxg5
20. fxg5 Bxg2
21. Qh5 Bxh1
22. Bxh7 Rf1+
23. Kxb2 Qb7+
24. Ka3 Qf3+
25. Qxf3 Rxf3+
26. Rd3 Kxh7
27. 0-1

My general comments are I think White's 8 and 12 are not best. The validity of the piece sac on 15 I'm not so sure about. Given the position it might be White's best chance but I haven't yet had the time to convince myself of it objective value. I think White was still in the game up until move 19. At this point perhaps another move would have been more testing. There are chances for Black to go wrong after the text but I think other tries for White will be variations branching at move 19. My opponent actually ran out of time on move 27 as well as resigning (which explains 26.Rd3 instead of Bd3). I didn't take much notice of my clock but I believe I had around 30 minutes left.

If anyone has comments on the game or my quick notes please post them.

Details of the game are my opponent was rated around 120 points lower than myself but a junior. Time limit was 60 min + 10 sec/move. It was played over the board.

antichrist
19-04-2006, 09:39 AM
It could very well be watchable but with all the melodramas on the main board - there could even be blood on the dancefloor!

Carl Gorka
19-04-2006, 10:46 AM
A very nice game to watch. The 8.Qf3 line is seen quite a bit but it's definitely not as testing as 8.e5 or 8.Qe2.